NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

INSURANCE AND HEALTH CARE COMMITTEE

Thursday, April 23, 1998 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of minutes of previous meeting

Comments by the committee chairman

HAIL SUPPRESSION STUDY

9:05 a.m. Comments by interested persons regarding the hail suppression study and

committee discussion and directives regarding the study

10:15 a.m. Coffee break

STATUS OF THE CHILDREN'S HEALTH INSURANCE PROGRAM (CHIP) STATE PLAN

10:30 a.m. Comments by Mr. David Zentner, Director, Division of Medical Services,

Department of Human Services, regarding the status of the state's CHIP plan,

comments by interested persons regarding the state's CHIP plan, and committee discussion and directives regarding the state's CHIP plan

12:00 noon Luncheon recess

PUBLIC HEALTH STRATEGIC PLANNING STUDY

1:00 p.m. Comments by Mr. Murray Sagsveen, State Health Officer, Department of

Health, regarding the public health strategic planning study, comments by interested persons regarding the public health strategic planning study, and committee discussion and directives regarding the public health strategic

planning study

EFFECTS OF MANAGED CARE ON RURAL NORTH DAKOTA STUDY

1:45 p.m. Comments by Mr. Sagsveen regarding the effects of managed care on rural

North Dakota, comments by interested persons regarding the effects of managed care on rural North Dakota study, and committee discussion and directives regarding the effects of managed care on rural North Dakota study

2:30 p.m. Coffee break

EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES STUDY

2:45 p.m. Comments by Mr. Sagsveen regarding the emergency medical services study,

comments by interested persons regarding the emergency medical services study, and committee discussion and directives regarding the emergency

medical services study

4:00 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators Karen K. Krebsbach (Chairman), Judy L. DeMers, Jerry Klein Representatives Michael Brandenburg, Thomas T. Brusegaard, Mike Callahan, Ron Carlisle, Al Carlson, David Drovdal, Pam Gulleson, Kenneth Kroeplin, Alice Olson, Clara Sue Price, Wanda Rose, John M. Warner