## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

#### **Tentative Agenda**

# **INSURANCE AND HEALTH CARE COMMITTEE**

Wednesday, July 1, 1998 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

1:00 p.m. Roll call Call to order Consideration of minutes of previous meeting Comments by Chairman Krebsbach

### HAIL SUPPRESSION STUDY

- 1:10 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of three bill drafts regarding hail suppression pilot programs
- 1:20 p.m. Comments by Mr. Bruce Boe, Director, Atmospheric Resource Board, regarding the three hail suppression pilot program bill drafts and the cost of performing additional hail suppression research
- 1:35 p.m. Comments by interested persons, committee discussion, and committee directives regarding the three hail suppression pilot program bill drafts and the hail suppression study

### EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES STUDY

- 2:00 p.m. Comments by representatives of ambulance services in the state regarding the emergency medical services study and ambulance service billing needs
- 2:20 p.m. Comments by interested persons, committee discussion, and committee directives regarding the emergency medical services study
- 2:30 p.m. Coffee break

#### STATUS OF THE CHILDREN'S HEALTH INSURANCE PROGRAM STATE PLAN

- 2:45 p.m. Comments by Mr. David Zentner, Director, Division of Medical Services, Department of Human Services, regarding the status of the implementation of the children's health insurance program (CHIP) state plan
- 3:10 p.m. Comments by interested persons, committee discussion, and committee directives regarding the CHIP state plan

#### PUBLIC HEALTH STRATEGIC PLANNING STUDY

- 3:30 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft relating to consolidation of the public health law
- 3:50 p.m. Comments by interested persons, committee discussion, and committee directives regarding the public health bill draft and the public health strategic planning study
- 4:10 p.m. Comments by Chairman Krebsbach
- 4:15 p.m. Adjourn

#### **Committee Members**

Senators Karen K. Krebsbach (Chairman), Judy L. DeMers, Jerry Klein

Representatives Michael Brandenburg, Thomas T. Brusegaard, Mike Callahan, Ron Carlisle, Al Carlson, David Drovdal, Pam Gulleson, Kenneth Kroeplin, Alice Olson, Clara Sue Price, Wanda Rose, John M. Warner