NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY COMMITTEE

Monday, October 26, 1998 Harvest Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

Call to order

9:00 a.m.

9.00 a.m.	Roll call Minutes of the October 1, 1998, meeting
9:05 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Nancy Walz, Senior Business Analyst, Information Services Division, regarding the statewide information technology strategic plan
9:45 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Jim Heck, Director, Information Services Division, regarding issues discovered during the state agency information technology strategic planning process
9:55 a.m.	Report by Mr. Heck regarding areas of joint or coordinated information technology systems and services with higher education
10:05 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Bob Pope, Inteliant, Bismarck, regarding activities relating to completing the recommendations for the <i>Strategic Telecommunications Plan</i> for North Dakota
10:30 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of the second draft of a bill draft implementing recommendations of the <i>Strategic Telecommunications Plan</i> for North Dakota
10:35 a.m.	Comments by Mr. Heck regarding the bill draft
10:40 a.m.	Comments by Ms. Connie Sprynczynatyk, Executive Director, North Dakota League of Cities, regarding the bill draft
10:55 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Jody French, SENDIT Project Director, regarding an overview of SENDIT and North Dakota School Net and comments regarding the bill draft
11:00 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Wayne Wermager, Wide Area Network (WAN) Consultant, regarding a technical overview of North Dakota School Net
11:05 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Art Conklin, Superintendent, Oakes Public School, and North Dakota School Net Chairman of the Board, regarding an administrative overview of North Dakota School Net and comments regarding the bill draft
11:10 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Charlie Folkner, President, GFA Consulting, regarding the bill draft
11:15 a.m.	Comments by others present concerning the bill draft
11:35 a.m.	Committee discussion of bill drafts before the committee:
	 Second draft of the Strategic Telecommunications Plan bill draft

Third draft of the information technology planning revisions bill draft

First draft of the Legislative Council Information Technology Committee bill draft

11:50 a.m. Discussion of other administrative matters

11:55 a.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators Larry J. Robinson (Chairman), Karen K. Krebsbach, Carolyn Nelson, Ken Solberg, Rod St. Aubyn

Representatives Rex R. Byerly, Eliot Glassheim, Ken Svedjan, Rich Wardner, Robin Weisz