NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

JUDICIARY COMMITTEE

Monday, January 12, 1998 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of minutes of October 27-28, 1997, meeting
9:05 a.m.	COURT UNIFICATION AND FUNDING OF CLERK OF COURT STUDY Presentation by Mr. Fred Miller, National Center for State Courts, regarding the results of a study of the consolidation and state funding of clerks of court
10:30 a.m.	Coffee break
10:45 a.m.	Comments by interested persons regarding the results of the study
11:15 a.m.	Presentations by Ms. Kay Newell Braget, Pembina County Clerk of Court, Ms. Rebecca Absey, Grand Forks County Clerk of Court, and Mr. Robert Indvik, Bottineau County Clerk of Court, regarding the clerk of court study
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Additional comments by interested persons regarding the clerk of court and court unification study
1:15 p.m.	Committee discussion regarding the clerk of court and court unification study
1:30 p.m.	DISCRIMINATION IN NORTH DAKOTA STUDY Presentation by Mr. Ray Falk, Investigator, Division of Human Rights, South Dakota Department of Commerce and Regulation, concerning the South Dakota Human Rights Commission
2:30 p.m.	Coffee break
2:45 p.m.	Presentation by Ms. Holly Marion, Director, Grand Forks Office of Community Relations, concerning the discrimination study
3:15 p.m.	Comments by other interested persons regarding the discrimination study
3:30 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of information regarding human rights commissions in other states
	CHARITABLE GAMING STUDY
3:45 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Keith Lauer, Gaming Division, Attorney General's office, regarding proposed law changes for bingo and video surveillance
4:00 p.m.	Presentation by Ms. Dianne Sheppard, Chief Executive Officer, The ARC Upper Valley, Inc., Grand Forks, regarding how the organization addresses excess gaming expenses
4:10 p.m.	Presentations by gaming organizations regarding excess gaming expenses

4:30 p.m. Comments by other interested persons concerning the charitable gaming study

4:45 p.m. Committee discussion

5:00 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators Wayne Stenehjem (Chairman), Marv Mutzenberger, Carolyn Nelson, Rolland W. Redlin, John T. Traynor, Darlene Watne

Representatives Charles Axtman, Duane L. DeKrey, Lois Delmore, G. Jane Gunter, Kathy Hawken, Roxanne Jensen, Scot Kelsh, William E. Kretschmar, Andrew G. Maragos, Shirley Meyer, Paul Murphy, Darrell D. Nottestad, Leland Sabby, Allan Stenehjem, Gerald O. Sveen