## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

**Tentative Agenda** 

# JUDICIARY COMMITTEE

Tuesday and Wednesday, May 19-20, 1998 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

## Tuesday, May 19, 1998

9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of minutes of January 12, 1998, meeting

## COURT UNIFICATION AND FUNDING OF CLERK OF COURT STUDY

- 9:05 a.m. Presentation by Chief Justice Gerald W. VandeWalle, North Dakota Supreme Court, regarding the final report of the National Center for State Courts North Dakota clerk of court consolidation study
- 9:30 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Keithe Nelson, Supreme Court Administrator, regarding estimated costs of implementing the clerk of court consolidation study plan
- 9:50 a.m. Presentations by representatives of judicial districts regarding the clerk of court consolidation study and related topics
  - Mr. Robert Indvik, Clerk of District Court, Bottineau County
  - Honorable Thomas K. Metelmann, Judge, Northeast Judicial District
  - Ms. Karin Fischer, Deputy Clerk of District Court, LaMoure County
  - Ms. Pam Stenehjem, Clerk of District Court/Register of Deeds, Dunn County
  - Ms. Alice Grove, Clerk of District Court, Kidder County
  - Mr. Dennis Schulz, Clerk of District Court, Logan County
  - Ms. Carol Fey, Deputy Clerk of District Court, McIntosh County
- 12:00 noon Luncheon recess
- 1:00 p.m. Continuation of presentations by representatives of judicial districts regarding the clerk of court consolidation study and related topics
- 1:45 p.m. Comments by other interested persons regarding the clerk of court consolidation study and court unification issues
- 2:20 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft regarding fees charged by clerks of district court
- 2:30 p.m. Comments by interested persons regarding the bill draft
- 2:45 p.m. Coffee break

## **DISCRIMINATION IN NORTH DAKOTA STUDY**

3:00 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of the results of a survey regarding discrimination-related calls received by agencies and departments

- 3:15 p.m. Presentation by Ms. Laurie Sterioti Hammeren, Human Resource Director, Department of Human Services, regarding discrimination-related calls received by the department
- 3:30 p.m. Presentation by Ms. Carole Barrett, North Dakota Advisory Committee to the United States Commission on Civil Rights, regarding the discrimination in North Dakota study
- 3:45 p.m. Comments by other interested persons regarding the discrimination study

#### CHARITABLE GAMING STUDY

- 4:00 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Rick Stenseth, Charitable Gaming Association of North Dakota, regarding proposed changes in the charitable gaming industry
- 4:15 p.m. Comments by other interested persons regarding the charitable gaming study
- 4:30 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft regarding bingo prizes
- 4:35 p.m. Comments by interested persons regarding the bill draft and the charitable gaming study
- 4:50 p.m. Recess

#### Wednesday, May 20, 1998

#### PUBLIC HEARING ON BALLOT MEASURE

- 9:00 a.m. Public hearing on the June 1998 primary election ballot measure
- 10:45 a.m. Coffee break

#### **UNIFORM LAWS**

- 11:00 a.m. Testimony from interested persons regarding:
  - Uniform Principal and Income Act (1997)
  - Uniform Guardianship and Protective Proceedings Act (1997)
  - Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction and Enforcement Act (1997)
- 12:00 noon Luncheon recess

### CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY REVISION

- 1:00 p.m. Presentation by Ms. Jean Mullen, Assistant Attorney General, regarding a South Central Judicial District decision declaring North Dakota Century Code Section 14-09-05.1 unconstitutional
- 1:15 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Chad Nodland, Attorney, regarding the district court decision
- 1:30 p.m. Comments by interested persons
- 1:45 p.m. Committee discussion
- 2:30 p.m. Adjourn

#### **Committee Members**

Senators Wayne Stenehjem (Chairman), Marv Mutzenberger, Carolyn Nelson, Rolland W. Redlin, John T. Traynor, Darlene Watne

Representatives Charles Axtman, Duane L. DeKrey, Lois Delmore, G. Jane Gunter, Kathy Hawken, Roxanne Jensen, Scot Kelsh, William E. Kretschmar, Andrew G. Maragos, Shirley Meyer, Paul Murphy, Darrell D. Nottestad, Leland Sabby, Allan Stenehjem, Gerald O. Sveen