NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

JUDICIARY COMMITTEE

Monday and Tuesday, August 17-18, 1998 Cityscape A Meeting Room, Radisson Inn, Fargo, and Student Center, State College of Science Wahpeton, North Dakota

Monday, August 17, 1998 - Cityscape A Meeting Room, Radisson Inn, Fargo			
	9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of minutes of previous meeting	
	9:10 a.m.	Consideration of a bill draft on bingo Comments by representatives of the Attorney General's office	
	9:25 a.m.	Presentation by a representative of the Attorney General's office on Powerball	
	9:45 a.m.	Coffee break	
	10:10 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of the second draft of a bill draft that increases fees for court filings	
	10:15 a.m.	Comments by interested persons on state funding of clerks of court	
	11:00 a.m.	Presentation by a representative of the North Dakota Fair Housing Council on claims of discriminatory advertising	
	11:15 a.m.	Presentation by representatives of the West Fargo Pioneer on claims of discriminatory advertising	
	11:30 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft that makes corrections for year 2000 references	
	11:45 a.m.	Luncheon recess	
	1:00 p.m.	Presentation by a representative of the Guardianship Association of North Dakota on the Uniform Guardianship and Protective Proceedings Act	
	1:20 p.m.	Comments by interested persons on the matter of grandparent visitation	
	1:40 p.m.	Presentation by a representative of the Attorney General's office on <i>State v. Hagerty, Billey v. North Dakota Stockmen's Association</i> , and other lawsuits substantially affecting this state	
	2:30 p.m.	Recess	
	Tuesday, August 18, 1998 - Red River Valley Room, Student Center, State College of Science,		

Wahpeton

9:00 a.m.	Public hearing on Measure No. 1 on the general election ballot relating to the
	institutions of higher education

10:00 a.m. Coffee break

10:20 a.m. Continuation of public hearing

Adjourn 12:00 noon

Committee Members

Senators Wayne Stenehjem (Chairman), Marv Mutzenberger, Carolyn Nelson, Rolland W. Redlin, John T. Traynor, Darlene Watne

Representatives Charles Axtman, Duane L. DeKrey, Lois Delmore, G. Jane Gunter, Kathy Hawken, Roxanne Jensen, Scot Kelsh, William E. Kretschmar, Andrew G. Maragos, Shirley Meyer, Paul Murphy, Darrell D. Nottestad, Leland Sabby, Allan Stenehjem, Gerald O. Sveen