NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

JUDICIARY COMMITTEE

Monday and Tuesday, October 27-28, 1997 Brynhild Haugland Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

Monday, October 27, 1997

9:00 a.m.	Call to order
	Roll call

Consideration of minutes of July 17, 1997, meeting

COURT UNIFICATION AND FUNDING OF CLERK OF COURT STUDY

9:05 a.m.	Presentation by Chief Justice Gerald W. VandeWalle, Supreme Court,
	concerning the state funding of clerks of court and court unification study

9:20 a.m. Presentation by Mr. John Olson, Attorney, Bismarck, concerning the discrimination in North Dakota study (remainder of testimony for this study is scheduled to begin at 2:15 p.m.)

9:40 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Kay Braget, Pembina County Clerk of Court, concerning the state funding of clerks of court and court unification study

10:00 a.m. Comments by interested persons concerning the clerks of court and court unification study

10:20 a.m. Committee discussion

10:30 a.m. Coffee break

CHARITABLE GAMING STUDY

- 10:45 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Peter Ressler, American Foundation for Wildlife, concerning charitable gaming sites and related issues
- 11:00 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Sheila Heil, Fort Abraham Lincoln Foundation, concerning charitable gaming sites and related issues
- 11:15 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Rick Stenseth, Fargo/Moorhead Community Theater, concerning charitable gaming sites and related issues
- 11:30 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Keith Lauer, Gaming Division, Attorney General's office, regarding:
 - Number of organizations that have suspended gaming over the past five years and reasons for the suspension
 - The profits of organizations of various sizes
 - Trends in the gaming industry, including data on the number of licenses issued, the number of organizations currently operating, the reasons for the closing of sites, and the costs incurred by a charity to set up a gaming site
 - A comparison of the gaming tax rates of North Dakota with other states

12:00 noon Luncheon recess

1:00 p.m.	Continuation of presentation by Mr. Lauer
1:40 p.m.	Comments by interested persons regarding the charitable gaming study
2:00 p.m.	Committee discussion
2:15 p.m.	DISCRIMINATION IN NORTH DAKOTA STUDY Presentation by Ms. Carole Barrett, North Dakota Advisory Committee to the United States Commission on Civil Rights, concerning the discrimination study and the September 24, 1997, meeting of the North Dakota Advisory Committee
2:30 p.m.	Presentation by Ms. Holly Marion, Director, Grand Forks Office of Community Relations, concerning the discrimination in North Dakota study
3:15 p.m.	Coffee break
3:30 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Larry Spain, Legal Aid Association, Grand Forks, concerning the study
3:50 p.m.	Presentation by Ms. Sandi Tabor, Executive Director, State Bar Association, concerning the findings of the Commission on Gender Fairness in the Courts
4:10 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Frankie Kartch, North Dakota Small Business Survival Committee, concerning the discrimination in North Dakota study
4:30 p.m.	Recess
Tuesday, October 28, 1997	
9:00 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Deborah Painte, Executive Director, North Dakota Indian Affairs Commission, representing Governor Edward T. Schafer, concerning the discrimination in North Dakota study
9:20 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Russell Mason, Chairman, Three Affiliated Tribes, New Town, concerning the study
9:40 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Joy Johnston, Greater North Dakota Association, concerning the study
10:00 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Pam Bean, North Dakota Fair Housing Council, concerning the study
10:20 a.m.	Coffee break
10:35 a.m.	Comments by other interested persons concerning the discrimination study
11:00 a.m.	Committee discussion
OTHER COMMITTEE BUSINESS	
11:15 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Jay E. Buringrud, Secretary, Commission on Uniform State Laws, regarding the recommendations of the commission for the enactment of uniform laws
11:25 a.m.	Comments by interested persons
11:35 a.m.	Committee discussion
12:00 noon	Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators Wayne Stenehjem (Chairman), Marv Mutzenberger, Carolyn Nelson, Rolland W. Redlin, John T. Traynor, Darlene Watne

Representatives Charles Axtman, Duane L. DeKrey, Lois Delmore, G. Jane Gunter, Kathy Hawken, Roxanne Jensen, Scot Kelsh, William E. Kretschmar, Andrew G. Maragos, Shirley Meyer, Paul Murphy, Darrell D. Nottestad, Leland Sabby, Allan Stenehjem, Gerald O. Sveen