NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE

Tuesday, June 9, 1998 Harvest Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order
Roll call
Minutes of March 17, 1998, meeting

9:05 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of results of a survey of legislators with respect to use of e-mail

9:10 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff regarding technology inventory of Legislative Assembly equipment and proposed equipment acquisition for the 1999 Legislative Assembly

- Computers assigned to desk forces, leadership secretaries, committee clerks, telephone attendants, information kiosk attendants, and other Legislative Assembly employees
- Printers provided to Legislative Assembly officers and employees
- Notebook computers provided to legislators

9:20 a.m. Demonstration of proposed notebook computers to be provided to legislators

9:20 a.m. Compaq - Ms. Jennifer Lefor, Account Manager, Government,
Corporate Technologies, Fargo
Fujitsu - Mr. Trevor Distad, Corporate Account Manager, Fujitsu
PC Corporation, Minneapolis

9:35 a.m. Dell - Mr. Dave Rasmussen, Technical Analyst, Dell Computer Corporation, Round Rock, Texas

9:50 a.m. Gateway - Mr. Dan Sabus, Account Executive, Gateway, Kansas City

10:05 a.m. IBM - Mr. Jim Gienger, Client Representative, Bismarck; Mr. Mike Komar, PC Sales Specialist, Minneapolis

10:20 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of the document subscription services provided during the 1997 legislative session and proposed document subscription services during the 1999 legislative session

- Library document distribution program
- Bills and resolutions
- Journals
- Journal index
- Bill Status Report

- Daily calendars
- Committee hearing schedules
- Special copies under Senate and House Rules 404
- 10:25 a.m. Presentation by University System personnel regarding on-line bill status system access during the 1999 legislative session
- 10:40 a.m. Review by the Legislative Council staff of the contracts for printing bills, resolutions, and journals and for publishing the Session Laws
- 10:45 a.m. Report by Mr. George Keiser, Quality Printing Service, of the operation of the joint bill and journal room during the 1997 legislative session
- 11:00 a.m. Meet with members of the Legislative Compensation Commission for discussion of legislative compensation and reimbursement rate issues
- 11:30 a.m. Discussion of notebook computers to be provided to legislators
- 11:45 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Warren Tvenge, Tvenge Associates Architects & Planners, regarding progress of the legislative renovation project
- 12:00 noon Luncheon recess
- 1:00 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff regarding participation in Phase 2 of the Block Boundary Suggestion Project for the 2000 census
- 1:10 p.m. Committee discussion of whether to participate in Phase 2 of the Block Boundary Suggestion Project
- 1:15 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a proposed records retention schedule for the Legislative Assembly
- 1:25 p.m. Review of session arrangements
 - State of the state address, state of the judiciary address, tribal-state relationship message, Legislative Compensation Commission report
 - Director of interns
 - Tour guides
 - Photography contract and bid solicitation
- 1:45 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of proposed rules amendments relating to:
 - Senate and House Rules 329, initial rereferral to Appropriations after final passage
 - Senate and House Rules 346, second draft, automatic transmittal to other house after 55th legislative day
 - Senate and House Rules 602, majority and minority committee reports
 - Joint Rule 203, crossover day for resolutions
 - Joint Rule 208, executive agency and Supreme Court bill introduction privilege
- 2:00 p.m. Discussion of other administrative matters

2:15 p.m. Adjourn (Note: the Garrison Diversion Overview Committee convenes in the Harvest Room at 2:30 p.m.)

Committee Members

Representatives John Dorso (Chairman), Merle Boucher, Pam Gulleson, William E. Kretschmar, Mike Timm Senators Tony Grindberg, Aaron Krauter, Tim Mathern, Gary J. Nelson, David E. Nething