NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

TAXATION COMMITTEE

Tuesday, July 22, 1997 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

- 9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Review of Legislative Council rules of operation and procedure
- 9:05 a.m. Comments of the committee chairman on interim activities
- 9:15 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on the study of providing property tax relief through alternative state and local revenue sources
- 9:30 a.m. Comments of interested persons in attendance
- 9:40 a.m. Committee discussion and directives
- 10:00 a.m. Coffee break
- 10:15 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on the study of the impact of tax-exempt property on school districts
- 10:30 a.m. Comments of interested persons in attendance
- 10:40 a.m. Committee discussion and directives
- 11:00 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on the study of the farm buildings property tax exemption
- 11:20 a.m. Comments of representatives of the Ward County Board of County Commissioners relating to the farm buildings exemption study
- 11:30 a.m. Comments of interested persons in attendance
- 11:40 a.m. Committee discussion and directives

12:00 noon Luncheon recess

- 1:15 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on the study of taxation and regulatory incentives for the lignite industry to improve its competitive position
- 1:35 p.m. Presentation by Mr. John Dwyer, President, North Dakota Lignite Council, relating to the committee's study of the lignite industry
- 1:50 p.m. Committee discussion and directives
- 2:10 p.m. Coffee break
- 2:25 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on the study of the property tax exemption for charitable organizations
- 2:45 p.m. Comments of interested persons in attendance
- 3:00 p.m. Committee discussion and directives
- 3:30 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives Wesley R. Belter (Chairman), Grant C. Brown, Chris Christopherson, William E. Gorder, Mick Grosz, Ralph L. Kilzer, Kenneth Kroeplin, Edward H. Lloyd, Ronald Nichols, Alice Olson, Dennis J. Renner, Earl Rennerfeldt, Arlo E. Schmidt, Ben Tollefson
Senators Randel Christmann, Layton Freborg, Meyer Kinnoin, Ed Kringstad, Randy A. Schobinger, Vern Thompson, Herb Urlacher