NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

TAXATION COMMITTEE

Tuesday, December 16, 1997 Brynhild Haugland Room and Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order in the Brynhild Haugland Room Roll call Consideration of minutes of previous meeting
9:05 a.m.	Joint meeting with the Electric Utilities Committee - Will follow Electric Utilities Committee's agenda until 12:00 noon
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Reconvene in Roughrider Room
	Presentation by Mr. John Dwyer, President, North Dakota Lignite Council, relating to test burn results for subbituminous coal, clean coal demonstration project status, and funding for a consultant's study of lignite industry competitive position
1:15 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Richard Ott and other representatives of the North Dakota School Boards Association and individual school districts regarding impact of property tax exemption decisions on school districts
2:15 p.m.	Coffee break
2:30 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Don Siebert, Ward County Tax Director, and Mr. Jim Lee, Ward County Commissioner, relating to application of the farm buildings property tax exemption for new farmers
2:45 p.m.	Presentation by Dr. Dwight Aakre, North Dakota State University Department of Agricultural Economics, relating to use of net income rather than gross income in the agricultural property valuation formula and information on lost agricultural acreage and valuation in Ramsey and Benson Counties
3:00 p.m.	Presentation by officials from political subdivisions in Ramsey, Walsh, Cavalier, and Benson Counties regarding assessment and abatement problems and impact to tax bases from rising waters of Devils Lake
3:30 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Barry Hasti, State Supervisor of Assessments, regarding treatment of inundated lands for assessment purposes
3:50 p.m.	Committee discussion and directives
4:05 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a memorandum on charitable organization property tax exemption application in Pennsylvania and Utah
4:20 p.m.	Testimony of interested persons in attendance
4:35 p.m.	Committee discussion and directives
4:45 p.m.	Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives Wesley R. Belter (Chairman), Grant C. Brown, Chris Christopherson, William E. Gorder, Mick Grosz, Ralph L. Kilzer, Kenneth Kroeplin, Edward H. Lloyd, Ronald Nichols, Alice Olson, Dennis J. Renner, Earl Rennerfeldt, Arlo E. Schmidt, Ben Tollefson Senators Randel Christmann, Layton Freborg, Meyer Kinnoin, Ed Kringstad, Randy A. Schobinger,

Vern Thompson, Herb Urlacher