October 24, 1997

## **MEETING NOTICE**

Representative Wesley R. Belter, Chairman, has called a meeting of the **TAXATION COMMITTEE**.

- DATE: Tuesday, December 16, 1997
- TIME: 9:00 a.m.
- PLACE: Brynhild Haugland Room and Roughrider Room, State Capitol, Bismarck
- AGENDA: The forenoon will be a joint meeting in the Brynhild Haugland Room with the Electric Utilities Committee to receive information on taxation of electric utilities. The afternoon portion of the meeting will be in the Roughrider Room and include testimony and discussion on the committee's studies of the property tax exemption for farm buildings, the feasibility of providing property tax relief through alternative revenue sources, the impact of tax-exempt property on school districts, the property tax exemption for charitable organizations, and incentives for the lignite industry to improve its competitive position.
- SPECIAL NOTE: Anyone who plans to attend the meeting and needs assistance because of a disability should contact the Legislative Council staff as soon as possible.
- COMMITTEE MEMBERS: Representatives Wesley R. Belter, Grant C. Brown, Chris Christopherson, William E. Gorder, Mick Grosz, Ralph L. Kilzer, Kenneth Kroeplin, Edward H. Lloyd, Ronald Nichols, Alice Olson, Dennis J. Renner, Earl Rennerfeldt, Arlo E. Schmidt, Ben Tollefson; Senators Randel Christmann, Layton Freborg, Meyer Kinnoin, Ed Kringstad, Randy A. Schobinger, Vern Thompson, Herb Urlacher

STAFF CONTACT: John Walstad Code Revisor Any member who is unable to attend this meeting is asked to please notify this office as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

John D. Olsrud Director

JDO/LMM