April 9, 1998

## **MEETING NOTICE**

Senator Jim Yockim, Chairman, has called a meeting of the WELFARE REFORM COMMITTEE.

- Date, Monday, May 4, 1998, 8:30 a.m., Conference Room, Northwest Human Service
- Time, and Place:
- Center, 316 Second Avenue West, Williston; 12:15 p.m., Green Room, UND-Williston, 1410 University Avenue; 3:30 p.m., Northwest Research Extension Center, 2 Miles Southwest of Williston on Highway 2
- Tuesday, May 5, 1998, 9:00 a.m., Bingo Hall, Four Bears Casino and Lodge, 4 Miles West of New Town
- Agenda: Budget tours of Northwest Human Service Center, UND-Williston, and Northwest Research Extension Center in Williston; presentation by representatives of the Department of Human Services regarding the state's welfare reform efforts, including a status report on the implementation of the temporary assistance for needy families (TANF) program, updated caseload data and expenditures status for the TANF and child care block grant programs, an update on the children's health insurance program and the welfare-to-work program, a status report on the evaluation of the state's implementation of welfare reform and tribal welfare reform issues; comments by representatives of county social service offices regarding the implementation of welfare reform, including caseload information, client work participation rates, availability of child care, and client employment opportunities; presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft providing for the state to pay food stamp benefits for refugees ineligible for federal benefits; testimony from representatives of tribal governments regarding tribal welfare reform issues; and testimony by other interested persons regarding the state's implementation of welfare reform and tribal welfare reform issues
- **Special Note:** Anyone who plans to attend the meeting and needs assistance because of a disability should contact the Legislative Council staff as soon as possible.
- **Committee Members:** Senators Jim Yockim, Judy L. DeMers, Tom Fischer, Judy Lee, Donna L. Nalewaja, Bob Stenehjem, Russell T. Thane; Representatives LeRoy G. Bernstein, Linda Christenson, Jack Dalrymple, Connie Johnsen, Ralph L. Kilzer, Carol A. Niemeier, Clara Sue Price, Robin Weisz
- **Staff Contacts:** Chester E. Nelson, Jr., Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor Jim W. Smith, Assistant Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor

Any member who is unable to attend this meeting is asked to please notify this office as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

John D. Olsrud Director

JD0/TS