NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

ADVISORY COMMISSION ON INTERGOVERNMENTAL RELATIONS

Friday, June 30, 2000 Harvest Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of minutes of January 28, 2000, meeting Comments by Senator Elroy N. Lindaas, Chairman

LEADERSHIP INITIATIVE FOR COMMUNITY STRATEGIC PLANNING

9:10 a.m. Comments by Ms. Dina Butcher, Director, and representatives of the Division of Community Services regarding the status of the Leadership Initiative for Community Strategic Planning project

Comments by interested persons

Commission discussion and directives

TOBACCO EDUCATION AND CESSATION

9:40 a.m. Presentation by Citizen Member Bob Frantsvog of the city and county public employee tobacco education and cessation bill draft

Comments by interested persons

Commission discussion and directives

10:40 a.m. Coffee break

MUNICIPAL COURT FINE COLLECTION

- 10:55 a.m. Comments by Citizen Members Bob Frantsvog and Les Korgel regarding problems cities are encountering collecting municipal court fines
 - Comments by interested persons

Commission discussion and directives

12:00 noon Luncheon recess

DISASTER RELIEF FUND

- 1:00 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of the disaster relief fund bill draft
- 1:10 p.m. Comments by Mr. Larry Maslowski, Assistant Senior Property and Casualty Analyst, Insurance Department, regarding funding the disaster relief fund
- 1:20 p.m. Comments by a representative of the State Water Commission regarding the impact of Devils Lake flooding on real property
- 1:35 p.m. Comments by a representative of the Division of Emergency Management regarding the disaster relief fund bill draft
- 1:55 p.m. Comments by interested persons regarding the disaster relief fund bill draft
- 2:25 p.m. Coffee break

- 2:40 p.m. Comments by Mr. Tom Tudor, Executive Director, Municipal Bond Bank, regarding loans available to political subdivisions in cases of emergencies or disasters
- 3:25 p.m. Comments by Mr. Eric Hardmeyer, Senior Vice President, Lending, Bank of North Dakota, regarding disaster relief loans available through the Bank of North Dakota
- 3:45 p.m. Commission discussion and directives

FUTURE COMMISSION WORK

- 3:55 p.m. Commission discussion regarding topics to address at future commission meetings
- 4:20 p.m. Adjourn

Commission Members Senators Elroy N. Lindaas (Chairman), Tim Mathern, Darlene Watne Representative Earl Rennerfeldt Citizen Members Randy Bina, Bob Frantsvog, Mel Jahner, Les Korgel, Maxine Olson-Hill, Ken Yantes Governor Edward T. Schafer