NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

AGRICULTURE COMMITTEE

Wednesday, July 26, 2000 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

- 9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of previous minutes
- 9:10 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft that would prohibit the Game and Fish Department from discriminating against or penalizing a landowner in the deerproof hay yard program for entering a hunting for compensation agreement
- 9:15 a.m. Comments by interested persons
- 9:30 a.m. Committee discussion
- 9:40 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Dave Huey, Assistant Attorney General, Consumer Protection and Antitrust Division, on antitrust law and state antitrust actions
- 10:10 a.m. Coffee break
- 10:25 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Chris Shaffer, Immediate Past Chairman of the Board and World Trade Representative, United States Wheat Associates, on trade policy regarding wheat
- 11:45 a.m. Luncheon recess
- 1:00 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Scott Bleggi, Director, Foreign Agricultural Service Outreach Office, United States Department of Agriculture, on federal trade programs and policies and the effect of these programs and policies on producers in this state
- 1:45 p.m. Comments and questions by committee members
- 2:00 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Vance Taylor, General Manager, Mill and Elevator, on past and present marketing strategies of the Mill and Elevator
- 2:30 p.m. Coffee break
- 2:45 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Gene Griffin, Director, Upper Great Plains Transportation Institute, North Dakota State University, on transportation issues resulting from certain marketing strategies
- 3:30 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Jon Mielke, Executive Secretary, Public Service Commission, on the progress of the pamphlet on credit-sale contracts
- 3:45 p.m. Committee discussion
- 4:30 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives John M. Warner (Chairman), James Boehm, Michael D. Brandenburg, Thomas T. Brusegaard, April Fairfield, Rod Froelich, Lyle Hanson, Gil Herbel, Keith A. Kempenich, James Kerzman, Ed Lloyd, Shirley Meyer, Phillip Mueller, Jon O. Nelson, Eugene Nicholas, Robert E. Nowatzki, Dennis J. Renner, Earl Rennerfeldt, Arlo E. Schmidt, Ray H. Wikenheiser Senators Bill L. Bowman, Meyer Kinnoin, Herb Urlacher, Terry M. Wanzek