NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

AGRICULTURE COMMITTEE

Thursday, October 28, 1999 North Central Research Extension Center Minot, North Dakota

- 9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of minutes of previous meeting
- 9:10 a.m. Distribution and review by the Legislative Council staff of *Hunting for Habitat: A Practical Guide to State-Landowner Partnerships*
- 9:20 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Roger Rostvet, Deputy Director, Game and Fish Department, on the enforcement of game and fish laws and damage to motor vehicles caused by big game
- 9:25 a.m. Questions and comments by committee members
- 9:30 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Phil Mastrangelo, State Director, United States Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, Wildlife Services, on federal programs to alleviate depredation
- 10:00 a.m. Questions and comments by committee members
- 10:15 a.m. Coffee break
- 10:30 a.m. Discussion by committee members on the depredation study and the expansion of the study to include all wild animal species
- 10:45 a.m. Presentation by representatives from North Dakota State University Agricultural Economics Department on marketing and international trade
- 11:45 a.m. Luncheon recess
- 1:00 p.m. Presentation on and tour of the North Central Research Extension Center by Mr. Jay Fisher, Director, North Central Research Extension Center
- 1:20 p.m. Questions and comments by committee members
- 1:30 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Larry Kleingartner, Executive Director, National Sunflower Association, on the marketing of sunflowers
- 1:50 p.m. Questions and comments by committee members
- 2:00 p.m. Coffee break
- 2:15 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Neal Fisher, Administrator, Wheat Commission, on the marketing of wheat
- 2:35 p.m. Questions and comments by committee members
- 2:45 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Mike Krueger, Vice President, Agri-Mark Grain Marketing Consultants, on grain marketing
- 3:15 p.m. Questions and comments by committee members
- 3:30 p.m. Distribution and review by the Legislative Council staff of selected state statutes providing protection to farmers for credit-sale contracts

- 3:40 p.m. Committee discussion
- 4:00 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives John M. Warner (Chairman), James Boehm, Michael D. Brandenburg, Thomas T. Brusegaard, April Fairfield, Rod Froelich, Lyle Hanson, Gil Herbel, Keith A. Kempenich, James Kerzman, Ed Lloyd, Shirley Meyer, Phillip Mueller, Jon O. Nelson, Eugene Nicholas, Robert E. Nowatzki, Dennis J. Renner, Earl Rennerfeldt, Arlo E. Schmidt, Ray H. Wikenheiser
Senators Bill L. Bowman, Meyer Kinnoin, Herb Urlacher, Terry M. Wanzek