NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

CRIMINAL JUSTICE COMMITTEE

Thursday, September 16, 1999 Harvest Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Review of Legislative Council rules of operation and procedure
9:10 a.m.	CORRECTIONAL SYSTEM STUDY Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum relating to the study directed by Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 4015the adult correctional system in North Dakota, including its functions, responsibilities, funding, and operation, and the causes of past and projected future increases in the state's adult inmate population, including the impact of sentencing laws
9:25 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Elaine Little, Director, Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation, regarding the correctional system study
	Testimony from interested persons regarding the correctional system study
10:30 a.m.	Coffee break
10:45 a.m.	SEXUAL OFFENDER STUDY Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum relating to the study directed by Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 4048the feasibility and desirability of revising the sections of the North Dakota Century Code which relate to sexual offenses, sentencing of sexual offenders, and sexual offender commitment treatment
11:00 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Robert Bennett, Attorney General's office, regarding the sexual offender study
	Presentation by Ms. Andrea Martin, North Dakota Council on Abused Women's Services, regarding the sexual offender study
	Testimony from interested persons regarding the sexual offender study
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	CLASSIFICATION OF CRIMINAL OFFENSES STUDY Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum relating to the study directed by Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 4051the classification of criminal offenses throughout the North Dakota Century Code
1:15 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Bennett regarding the classification of criminal offenses study
	Testimony from interested persons regarding the criminal offenses classification study
2:00 p.m.	Committee discussion
2:30 p.m.	Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives John Mahoney (Chairman), Curtis E. Brekke, Ron Carlisle, Rachael Disrud, Bruce A. Eckre, G. Jane Gunter, Jon Martinson, Gerald O. Sveen, Elwood Thorpe, John M. Warner Senators Stanley W. Lyson, Carolyn Nelson, Wayne Stenehjem, Darlene Watne