NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

COMMERCE AND LABOR COMMITTEE

Monday, September 11, 2000 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of minutes of July 10-11, 2000, meeting

Comments by Chairman Glassheim

RENAISSANCE ZONE BILL DRAFT

9:05 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of renaissance zone bill draft

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and directives

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT STUDY

9:25 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Laura Willard, Business Development Manager, Department of

Economic Development and Finance, of Regional Economic Modeling, Inc., Policy Insight computer software to run computer simulations using various economic

factors

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT STUDY BILL DRAFTS

10:00 a.m. Review of economic development goals bill draft

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and directives

10:15 a.m. Coffee break

10:30 a.m. Review of student loan forgiveness bill draft

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and directives

11:00 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of North Dakota venture capital fund bill

draft

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and directives

12:00 noon Luncheon recess

WORKERS' COMPENSATION REPORTS

1:00 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Malcolm Dodge, Vice President, Professional Risk Management,

and representatives of the Workers Compensation Bureau of the bureau's recommendations from the study of the benefits available to persons receiving

long-term disability or death benefits

1:30 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Dodge and representatives of the Workers Compensation

Bureau of the results of the study of the awards provided to injured employees with

permanent impairments caused by compensable work injuries

2:30 p.m. Coffee break

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT BILL DRAFTS

2:45 p.m. Presentation of second draft of department of commerce bill draft

Comments via telephone by Mr. Miles Friedman, Executive Officer, National Association of State Development Agencies, regarding proposed changes to the bill

draft

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and directives

FUTURE MEETINGS

4:15 p.m. Committee discussion of issues for future meetings

4:30 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives Eliot Glassheim (Chairman), Rick Berg, Curtis E. Brekke, Byron Clark, Glen Froseth, William E. Gorder, Howard Grumbo, Nancy Johnson, George J. Keiser, Lawrence R. Klemin, Amy N. Kliniske, Dale C. Severson, Dorvan Solberg, Elwood Thorpe

Senators Tony Grindberg, Karen K. Krebsbach, Deb Mathern, Duane Mutch, Harvey Sand, Harvey D. Tallackson, Vern Thompson