## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

**Tentative Agenda** 

## **EDUCATION FINANCE COMMITTEE**

Tuesday, April 25, 2000 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

- 9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Approval of minutes from previous meeting
- 9:05 a.m. Presentation by Dr. Michel Hillman, Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, North Dakota University System, regarding remedial courses offered at North Dakota public institutions of higher education
- 10:15 a.m. Coffee break
- 10:30 a.m. Presentation by Dr. Richard Ott, Executive Director, North Dakota School Boards Association, regarding ending fund balances of North Dakota school districts
- 12:00 noon Luncheon recess
- 1:00 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Bob Rutten, Director of Special Education, Department of Public Instruction, regarding the funding of special education
- 2:00 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of two bill drafts related to academic content standards and student assessments
- 2:10 p.m. Comments by interested parties regarding the bill drafts related to academic content standards and student assessments
- 3:00 p.m. Coffee break
- 3:15 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft to impose a dedicated income tax for the purpose of raising teacher salaries
- 3:20 p.m. Comments by interested parties regarding the bill draft to impose a dedicated income tax for the purpose of raising teacher salaries
- 3:40 p.m. Committee discussion Staff directives
- 4:30 p.m. Adjourn

## **Committee Members**

Senators Layton Freborg (Chairman), Dwight C. Cook, Jerome Kelsh, Rolland W. Redlin

Representatives James Boehm, Thomas T. Brusegaard, Jack Dalrymple, Lois Delmore, Rachael Disrud, David Drovdal, Howard Grumbo, C. B. Haas, Lyle Hanson, Kathy Hawken, Dennis E. Johnson, RaeAnn G. Kelsch, Deb Lundgren, Ralph Metcalf, Robert E. Nowatzki, Bob Stefonowicz, Laurel Thoreson