NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

EDUCATION FINANCE COMMITTEE

Wednesday, July 14, 1999 Pioneer Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Review of Legislative Council supplementary rules of operation and procedure Comments by Senator Layton Freborg, Chairman
9:15 a.m.	EDUCATION FINANCE STUDY Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding the provision of education to public school students in this state
9:30 a.m.	Comments by Mr. Tom Decker, Department of Public Instruction, regarding education finance, demographics, and school district reorganization
10:30 a.m.	Coffee break
10:45 a.m.	Comments by Mr. Rick Clayburgh, Tax Commissioner, regarding the fiscal impact of 1999 agricultural activity
11:15 a.m.	Comments by a representative of the North Dakota Department of Agriculture regarding the economic and social impact of 1999 agricultural activity
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	ACCREDITATION AND ACADEMIC STANDARDS STUDY Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding state accreditation standards
1:15 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding the development and implementation of statewide academic standards, student assessments, and accountability
1:30 p.m.	Comments by Mr. Greg Gallagher, Department of Public Instruction, regarding state accreditation standards, the development and implementation of statewide academic standards, student assessments, and accountability
2:30 p.m.	Coffee break
2:45 p.m.	SPECIAL EDUCATION STUDY Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding the funding of special education
2:55 p.m.	Comments by Ms. Brenda Oas, Department of Public Instruction, regarding the funding of special education
3:15 p.m.	Comments by interested persons Committee discussion and directives
3:45 p.m.	Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators Layton Freborg (Chairman), Dwight C. Cook, Jerome Kelsh, Rolland W. Redlin Representatives James Boehm, Thomas T. Brusegaard, Jack Dalrymple, Lois Delmore, Rachael Disrud, David Drovdal, Howard Grumbo, C. B. Haas, Lyle Hanson, Kathy Hawken, Dennis E. Johnson, RaeAnn G. Kelsch, Deb Lundgren, Ralph Metcalf, Robert E. Nowatzki, Bob Stefonowicz, Laurel Thoreson