## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

## Tentative Agenda

## **EDUCATION FINANCE COMMITTEE**

Wednesday, August 30, 2000 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Approval of minutes from previous meeting
9:05 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Tom Decker, Department of Public Instruction, regarding the content of the financial reports from school districts and specific actions taken to account for transfers from school district general funds, to eliminate or reduce variations in the reporting of data, and to ensure that the financial data are available in a form that allows for accurate and consistent comparisons
9:20 a.m.	Presentation by Dr. Richard Ott, Executive Director, North Dakota School Boards Association, regarding mill levies, teacher salaries, and construction needs in relation to the ending fund balances of 37 North Dakota school districts
10:00 a.m.	Presentation by a representative of the Office of Management and Budget regarding the schedule by which state payments are distributed to school districts
10:15 a.m.	Coffee break
10:30 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of committee-requested amendments to a bill draft requiring statewide academic content standards and a bill draft requiring statewide academic content standards and assessments
10:40 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Greg Gallagher, Department of Public Instruction, regarding the fiscal effect of a bill draft requiring statewide academic content standards, the fiscal effect of a bill draft requiring statewide academic content standards and assessments, and the availability of dollars for content development, assessment development, and teacher inservice training
11:30 a.m.	Comments by interested persons
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of committee-requested amendments to a bill draft imposing an income tax increase for the purpose of raising the salaries of classroom teachers
1:10 p.m.	Comments by interested persons
2:00 p.m.	Committee discussion and staff directives
3:00 p.m.	Adjourn

## **Committee Members**

Senators Layton Freborg (Chairman), Dwight C. Cook, Jerome Kelsh, Rolland W. Redlin Representatives James Boehm, Thomas T. Brusegaard, Jack Dalrymple, Lois Delmore, Rachael Disrud, David Drovdal, Howard Grumbo, C. B. Haas, Lyle Hanson, Kathy Hawken, Dennis E. Johnson, RaeAnn G. Kelsch, Deb Lundgren, Ralph Metcalf, Robert E. Nowatzki, Bob Stefonowicz, Laurel Thoreson