NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

EDUCATION FINANCE COMMITTEE

Thursday and Friday, September 30-October 1, 1999 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

Thursday, September 30, 1999

| • • • | · |
|------------------------|---|
| 9:00 a.m. | Call to order Roll call Approval of minutes from previous meeting |
| 9:05 a.m. | Presentation by Dr. Michael Hillman, Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, North Dakota University System, regarding remedial courses offered at North Dakota public institutions of higher education |
| 10:00 a.m. | Coffee break |
| 10:15 a.m. | Presentation by Dr. Richard W. Rathge, Professor, Department of Agricultural Economics, North Dakota State University, regarding declining demographics |
| 12:00 noon | Luncheon recess |
| 1:00 p.m. | Presentation by Dr. Kendall E. Nygard, Professor and Chairman, Department of Computer Science, North Dakota State University, regarding the location of school |
| | districts |
| 3:00 p.m. | |
| 3:00 p.m. 3:15 p.m. | districts |
| • | districts Coffee break Presentation by a representative of the Quality Schools Committee regarding the |

Friday, October 1, 1999

Adjourn

| 9:00 a.m. | Presentation by Dr. Gerald R. Bass, Professor, College of Education and Human Development, University of North Dakota, regarding the effects of school district consolidation on educational offerings, school facilities, teacher salaries, and student transportation |
|------------|---|
| 10:00 a.m. | Presentation by Mr. Helmuth Habermann, Superintendent, Northern Cass School District, regarding the effects of school district consolidation on educational offerings, school facilities, teacher salaries, and student transportation |
| 11:30 a.m. | Presentation by Mr. Decker regarding salary levels of school district superintendents |
| 11:45 a.m. | Presentation by Mr. Decker regarding a comprehensive student data base |
| 12:00 noon | Presentation by other interested persons Committee discussion Staff directives |

Committee Members

Senators Layton Freborg (Chairman), Dwight C. Cook, Jerome Kelsh, Rolland W. Redlin Representatives James Boehm, Thomas T. Brusegaard, Jack Dalrymple, Lois Delmore, Rachael Disrud, David Drovdal, Howard Grumbo, C. B. Haas, Lyle Hanson, Kathy Hawken, Dennis E. Johnson, RaeAnn G. Kelsch, Deb Lundgren, Ralph Metcalf, Robert E. Nowatzki, Bob Stefonowicz, Laurel Thoreson