NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

EDUCATION FINANCE COMMITTEE

Thursday, November 18, 1999 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

| 9:00 a.m. | Call to order Roll call Approval of minutes from previous meeting |
|------------|---|
| 9:05 a.m. | Presentation by Dr. Mary Harris, Dean, College of Education and Human Development, University of North Dakota, regarding North Dakota teacher training programs |
| 10:30 a.m. | Coffee break |
| 10:45 a.m. | Presentation by Ms. Janet Placek, Executive Director, Education Standards and Practices Board, regarding teacher quality issues |
| 12:00 noon | Luncheon recess |
| 1:00 p.m. | Presentation by Mr. Joe Westby, Executive Director, North Dakota Education Association, regarding teacher shortages and teacher quality issues |
| 2:00 p.m. | Presentation by Mr. Larry Klundt, Executive Director, North Dakota Council of Educational Leaders, regarding availability of teachers |
| 2:45 p.m. | Coffee break |
| 3:00 p.m. | Comments by other interested persons regarding agenda items |
| 3:45 p.m. | Committee discussion Staff directives Adjourn |

Committee Members

Senators Layton Freborg (Chairman), Dwight C. Cook, Jerome Kelsh, Rolland W. Redlin Representatives James Boehm, Thomas T. Brusegaard, Jack Dalrymple, Lois Delmore, Rachael Disrud, David Drovdal, Howard Grumbo, C. B. Haas, Lyle Hanson, Kathy Hawken, Dennis E. Johnson, RaeAnn G. Kelsch, Deb Lundgren, Ralph Metcalf, Robert E. Nowatzki, Bob Stefonowicz, Laurel Thoreson