NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

GARRISON DIVERSION OVERVIEW COMMITTEE

Monday, June 21, 1999 Harvest Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

- 9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Review of Legislative Council rules of operation and procedure
- 9:05 a.m. Comments by the committee chairman concerning the statutory responsibilities of
- 9:10 a.m.
 Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on the statutory duties of the Garrison Diversion Overview Committee and review of the

Garrison Diversion Unit Project

- 9:15 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Warren L. Jamison, Manager, Garrison Diversion Conservancy District, Carrington, concerning the status of the Garrison Diversion Unit Project, the fiscal year 2000 Garrison appropriation, and the Dakota Water Resources Act
- 9:45 a.m. Comments by Mr. William Bicknell, President, North Dakota Chapter of the Wildlife Society, concerning the Dakota Water Resources Act

10:00 a.m. Coffee break

- 10:15 a.m. Presentation by Mr. David Sprynczynatyk, State Engineer and Secretary, State Water Commission, concerning:
 - · Garrison municipal, rural, and industrial water supply program
 - Northwest Area Water Supply Project
 - Southwest Pipeline Project
 - Implementation of a comprehensive statewide water development program and state water management plan and the issuance and sources of repayment of bonds to finance construction of flood control projects, the Southwest Pipeline Project, a Devils Lake outlet, and a statewide water development program during the 1999-2000 interim
 - Update on the study of the feasibility and desirability of constructing dams and other impoundments on the Pembina River watershed for the purpose of reducing flows in the lower reaches of the Pembina River
- 11:00 a.m. Comments by Governor Edward T. Schafer or a representative of the Governor's office concerning Devils Lake flooding
- 11:30 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Sprynczynatyk concerning Devils Lake flooding
- 12:00 noon Luncheon recess
- 1:00 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Sprynczynatyk concerning the Maple River Dam Project
- 1:30 p.m. Comments by other interested persons in attendance
- 2:00 p.m. Committee discussion and staff directives

2:15 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives John Dorso (Chairman), Merle Boucher, Mick Grosz, Pam Gulleson, David Monson, Eugene Nicholas, Francis J. Wald

Senators Layton Freborg, Joel C. Heitkamp, Aaron Krauter, Gary J. Nelson, Rod St. Aubyn, John T. Traynor, Terry M. Wanzek