MEETING NOTICE

Representative Clara Sue Price, Chairman, has called a meeting of the **BUDGET COMMITTEE ON HEALTH CARE**.

Date: Thursday and Friday, February 24-25, 2000

Time: 1:00 p.m., Thursday

9:00 a.m., Friday

Place: Roughrider Room, State Capitol, Bismarck

Agenda: Presentations by representatives of the State Department of Health on the community

health trust fund, proposed changes to the state educational loan repayment program, emergency medical services, the impact of the farm crisis on the demand for health care services, and other issues relating to the committee's studies; by representatives of the Department of Human Services on federal legislation relating to Medicare reimbursement of home health services, federal regulations relating to Medicaid reimbursement of nurse practitioner services, the children's health insurance program, the loan and grant program for nursing facility care alternatives implemented pursuant to 1999 Senate Bill No. 2168, and other issues relating to the committee's studies; by a representative of the American Heart Association on a statewide comprehensive tobacco prevention program; by representatives of the Tobacco Dependence Treatment Center, the Red River Health Promotion Council, and the North Dakota State University Extension Service on tobacco prevention and cessation programs; by a representative of the University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences on the school's health care initiatives; by representatives of the North Dakota Health Care Association and Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Dakota on reimbursements for medical services; by representatives of the North Dakota Long Term Care Association on the nursing facility survey process; by a representative of the Children's Services Coordinating Committee on efforts to identify and enroll children in the children's health insurance program; and other presentations relating to the committee's studies

Special Note: Anyone who plans to attend the meeting and needs assistance because of a disability should contact the Legislative Council staff as soon as possible.

Committee Members: Representatives Clara Sue Price, Byron Clark, Audrey Cleary, William R. Devlin, David Drovdal, Serenus Hoffner, Keith A. Kempenich, Deb Lundgren, Carol A. Niemeier, Todd Porter, Wanda Rose, Dale C. Severson, Ken Svedjan; Senators Judy L. DeMers, Tom Fischer, Ralph Kilzer, Marv Mutzenberger, Randy A. Schobinger, Russell T. Thane

Staff Contacts: Jim W. Smith, Assistant Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor Joe R. Morrissette, Senior Fiscal Analyst

Any member who is unable to attend this meeting is asked to please notify this office as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

John D. Olsrud Director

JDO/LMM