NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Thursday, May 25, 2000 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of minutes of the October 29, 1999, and April 19, 2000, meetings

HIGHER EDUCATION FUNDING STUDY

9:05 a.m.

Presentation by representatives of the North Dakota University System of information regarding the task force recommendations presented to the Higher Education Committee at its April 19, 2000, meeting:

- Comments regarding the executive summary of the task force reports
- Constitutional, statutory, State Board of Higher Education, and campus policy changes required to implement the task force recommendations
- Plans for the implementation of task force recommendations requiring North Dakota University System action
- Information regarding the higher education funding methodology including issues, limitations, or concerns and suggested alternatives for an equitable funding system

10:30 a.m.

Comments by interested persons regarding the task force recommendations and accountability measures including representatives of the following:

- Office of Management and Budget
- Information Technology Department
- State Board for Vocational and Technical Education
- Department of Public Instruction
- Department of Economic Development and Finance
- State Auditor's office
- North Dakota Workforce Development Council
- Job Service North Dakota
- Greater North Dakota Association
- Other interested persons

12:00 noon Luncheon recess

1:00 p.m. Continuation of comments by interested persons regarding the task force

recommendations

1:30 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of information regarding the higher education task force recommendations including: A summary of task force recommendations requiring legislative action A review of the history of the appropriation of special funds Committee discussion and staff directives regarding the study of higher education 2:00 p.m. STUDY OF THE DIVISION OF INDEPENDENT STUDY Presentation of a report by representatives of the Division of Independent Study of a 3:00 p.m. summary of the division's consultant's operational review of the Division of Independent Study and any suggested changes to the division, including related statutory changes, related costs, and timelines for implementation Testimony by interested persons regarding the committee's study of the Division of 4:00 p.m. Independent Study Committee discussion and staff directives regarding the committee's study of the 4:30 p.m. Division of Independent Study

5:00 p.m.

Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators David E. Nething (Chairman), Tim Flakoll, Tony Grindberg, Ray Holmberg, Ed Kringstad, Elroy N. Lindaas, Ken Solberg, Rod St. Aubyn, Steve Tomac, Rich Wardner Representatives Ole Aarsvold, Al Carlson, Jack Dalrymple, Eliot Glassheim, Nancy Johnson, Myron Koppang, Ed Lloyd, Andrew G. Maragos, Bob Stefonowicz, Gerald O. Sveen, Janet Wentz