NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Wednesday, June 30, 1999 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

Call to order

9:00 a.m.

3.00 a.m.	Roll call Review of Legislative Council rules of operation and procedure
9:05 a.m.	Comments by the committee chairman on study responsibilities assigned to the Higher Education Committee
9:15 a.m.	HIGHER EDUCATION FUNDING STUDY Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding the committee's study of higher education funding as directed by Section 19 of House Bill No. 1003, including the expectations of the University System in meeting the state's needs in the 21st century, the funding methodology needed to meet these expectations and needs, and an accountability system and reporting methodology for the University System, and the responsibility, pursuant to North Dakota Century Code Section 15-10-14.2, regarding reports on the status of the University System
9:45 a.m.	Comments by Mr. Larry Isaak, Chancellor, North Dakota University System, regarding the committee's study of higher education funding, including a review of the Board of Higher Education's six-year plan, the Bush Foundation study report, the status of implementation of the 1999-2001 appropriations, and plans for membership in the Midwestern Regional Higher Education Compact
11:00 a.m.	Comments by other interested persons regarding the committee's study of higher education funding
11:45 a.m.	Comments by committee members regarding the study of higher education funding
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Committee discussion and staff directives regarding the higher education funding study
1:30 p.m.	STUDY OF THE DIVISION OF INDEPENDENT STUDY Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding the committee's study, as directed by Section 22 of Senate Bill No. 2013, regarding the role, mission, operation, and privatization of the Division of Independent Study, including educational services provided by the division to out-of-state students
2:00 p.m.	Comments by representatives of the Department of Public Instruction and the Division of Independent Study regarding the committee's study
3:00 p.m.	Comments by interested persons regarding the committee's study of the Division of Independent Study
4:00 p.m.	Comments by committee members regarding the committee's study

4:30 p.m. Committee discussion and staff directives regarding the study of the Division of

Independent Study

5:00 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators David E. Nething (Chairman), Tim Flakoll, Tony Grindberg, Ray Holmberg, Ed Kringstad, Elroy N. Lindaas, Ken Solberg, Rod St. Aubyn, Steve Tomac, Rich Wardner Representatives Ole Aarsvold, Al Carlson, Jack Dalrymple, Eliot Glassheim, Nancy Johnson, Myron Koppang, Ed Lloyd, Andrew G. Maragos, Bob Stefonowicz, Gerald O. Sveen, Janet Wentz