NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Tuesday and Wednesday, September 28-29, 1999 Exchequer Room, Jamestown Civic Center, 212 Third Avenue NE Jamestown, North Dakota

Tuesday, September 28, 1999

8:30 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of minutes of the June 30, 1999 meeting

HIGHER EDUCATION ROUNDTABLE

Representatives of business, industry, the State Board of Higher Education, the institutions of higher education, higher education students, the executive branch, and private and tribal higher education institutions will join the committee for a higher education roundtable discussion to identify:

- The expectations of the University System in meeting the state's needs for the 21st century
- The funding methodology to meet the identified expectations and needs
- The appropriate accountability and reporting system for the University System
- 8:35 a.m. Comments by Senator David Nething regarding the higher education roundtable responsibilities, structure, and timelines and the introduction of higher education roundtable members
- 9:00 a.m. Presentation by Dr. Charles Schwahn, Consultant, Custer, South Dakota, and Mr. Dennis Jones, President, National Center for Higher Education Management Systems, Boulder, Colorado, regarding:
 - Future conditions and trends that will impact North Dakota and the North Dakota University System
 - The implications to North Dakota and the North Dakota University System of changing conditions, trends, and people served

12:00 noon Luncheon recess

1:00 p.m. Higher education roundtable development of planning assumptions relating to the North Dakota University System and the State of North Dakota, facilitated by Dr. Schwahn and Mr. Jones

2:00 p.m. Higher education roundtable development and identification of expectations of the North Dakota University System in meeting the state's needs for the 21st century, facilitated by Dr. Schwahn and Mr. Jones

5:00 p.m. Recess

An evening reception and dinner for committee members, roundtable members, and staff is planned to begin at 6:00 p.m. Additional information regarding cost and location will be provided at a later date.

Wednesday, September 29, 1999

8:30 a.m. Presentation by Dr. Schwahn and Mr. Jones summarizing the previous day's roundtable identification of planning assumptions and the expectations of the North Dakota University System in meeting the state's needs for the 21st century

9:30 a.m. Higher education roundtable development and identification of success and accountability characteristics of the North Dakota University System, facilitated by Dr. Schwahn and Mr. Jones

12:00 noon Luncheon recess

1:00 p.m. Higher education roundtable development of the role and responsibilities of the higher education task forces, facilitated by Dr. Schwahn and Mr. Jones, including:

Identify how to achieve success for the identified expectations

Gather research and examine best practices

 Develop recommendations regarding what needs to change and who needs to do what to make change occur

2:30 p.m. Summation by Dr. Schwahn and Mr. Jones of the higher education roundtable discussions

2:45 p.m. Comments by Senator Nething regarding the higher education roundtable

discussions and plans for a future meeting

3:00 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators David E. Nething (Chairman), Tim Flakoll, Tony Grindberg, Ray Holmberg, Ed Kringstad, Elroy N. Lindaas, Ken Solberg, Rod St. Aubyn, Steve Tomac, Rich Wardner Representatives Ole Aarsvold, Al Carlson, Jack Dalrymple, Eliot Glassheim, Nancy Johnson, Myron Koppang, Ed Lloyd, Andrew G. Maragos, Bob Stefonowicz, Gerald O. Sveen, Janet Wentz

Roundtable Members

Hardin Aasand, Bethany Andreasen, Ryan Bernstein, Craig Caspers, Joseph Chapman, Beverly Clayburgh, Maggie Clemmens, Vern Dosch, Jennifer Feist, Bruce Furness, Red Geurts, Bill Goetz, Gary Hagen, Don Hedger, Bruce Henke, Dennis Hill, John Hoeven, William Isaacson, Larry Isaak (ex officio nonvoting), Jim Jensen, Dennis Johnson, Marlowe Johnson, Dave Kemnitz, Dale Knutson, John Korsmo, Charles Kupchella, Max Laird, Carty Monette, Melvin Olson, Joe Peltier, Ryn Pitts, Ken Quamme, Roger Reierson, Wayne Sanstead, Jeanette Satrom, H. Erik Shaar, Charles Stroup, Donna Thigpen, Jodi Uecker-Rust, Sister Thomas Welder