REVISED MEETING NOTICE

Senator David Nething, Chairman, has called a meeting of the HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE.

Date: Tuesday and Wednesday, September 28-29, 1999

Time: 8:30 a.m.

Place: Exchequer Room, Jamestown Civic Center, 212 Third Avenue NE, Jamestown

Agenda: Presentations by Dr. Dennis Jones, President, National Center for Higher Education Management Systems, Boulder, Colorado, and Dr. Charles Schwahn, Consultant, Custer, South Dakota, regarding higher education conditions and trends and the related implications on the North Dakota University System and a higher education roundtable with representatives of business, industry, the State Board of Higher Education, the institutions of higher education, higher education students, the executive branch, and private and tribal higher education institutions to assess the implications of changing conditions and trends on the University

System, to identify the expectations of the University System in meeting the state's needs for the 21st century, the funding methodology necessary to meet these expectations and needs

and the related accountability system and reporting methodology

Special Note: Anyone who plans to attend the meeting and needs assistance because of a disability should contact the Legislative Council staff as soon as possible.

Committee Members: Senators David E. Nething, Tim Flakoll, Tony Grindberg, Ray Holmberg, Ed Kringstad, Elroy N. Lindaas, Ken Solberg, Rod St. Aubyn, Steve Tomac, Rich Wardner; Representatives Ole Aarsvold, Al Carlson, Jack Dalrymple, Eliot Glassheim, Nancy Johnson, Myron Koppang, Ed Lloyd, Andrew G. Maragos, Bob Stefonowicz, Gerald O. Sveen, Janet Wentz

Roundtable Members: Hardin Aasand, Bethany Andreasen, Ryan Bernstein, Craig Caspers, Joseph Chapman, Beverly Clayburgh, Maggie Clemmens, Vern Dosch, Jennifer Feist, Bruce Furness, Red Geurts, Bill Goetz, Gary Hagen, Don Hedger, Bruce Henke, Dennis Hill, John Hoeven, William Isaacson, Larry Isaak (ex officio nonvoting), Jim Jensen, Dennis Johnson, Marlowe Johnson, Dave Kemnitz, Dale Knutson, John Korsmo, Charles Kupchella, Max Laird, Carty Monette, Melvin Olson, Joe Peltier, Ryn Pitts, Ken Quamme, Roger Reierson, Wayne Sanstead, Jeanette Satrom, H. Erik Shaar, Charles Stroup, Donna Thigpen, Jodi Uecker-Rust, Sister Thomas Welder

Staff Contacts: Chester E. Nelson, Jr., Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor

Jim W. Smith, Assistant Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor

Any member who is unable to attend this meeting is asked to please notify this office as soon as possible. Sincerely,

John D. Olsrud Director

JDO/JFB