NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Friday, October 29, 1999 Carrington Research Extension Center 31/2 Miles North of Carrington on Highway 281 Carrington, North Dakota

9:30 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of minutes of the June 30 and September 28-29, 1999, meetings

HIGHER EDUCATION ROUNDTABLE

Representatives of business, industry, State Board of Higher Education, the institutions of higher education, higher education students, the executive branch, and private and tribal higher education institutions will join the committee's Higher Education Roundtable for additional discussion regarding:

- The expectations of the University System in meeting the state's needs for the 21st century
- The funding methodology to meet the identified expectations and needs
- The appropriate accountability and reporting system for the University System

9:35 a.m. Presentation by Dr. Charles Schwahn, Consultant, Custer, South Dakota, and Mr. Dennis Jones, President, National Center for Higher Education Management Systems, Boulder, Colorado, of a draft report summarizing the major planning assumptions, findings, and expectations of the North Dakota University System identified at the Higher Education Roundtable on September 28-29, 1999

11:00 a.m. Higher Education Roundtable discussion regarding North Dakota University System planning assumptions and expectations

11:30 a.m. Presentation by Chairman Nething regarding task force assignments and operations

11:45 a.m. Roundtable discussion

12:00 noon Conclusion of Higher Education Roundtable Luncheon recess

Presentation by a representative of the Division of Independent Study relating to the committee's study of the Division of Independent Study pursuant to Section 22 of 1999 Senate Bill No. 2013, including:

- The status of Division of Independent Study enrollments, including information regarding the number of resident and nonresident enrollments
- The various courses provided and related enrollments
- The division's authorized FTE and current personnel, including responsibilities
- The division's current facilities, including square footage, rent, utilities, and other costs
- Details of the 1999-2001 biennium budget for the division

Committee discussion and staff directives 2:00 p.m.

3:00 p.m. Adjourn

1:00 p.m.

Committee Members

Senators David E. Nething (Chairman), Tim Flakoll, Tony Grindberg, Ray Holmberg, Ed Kringstad, Elroy N. Lindaas, Ken Solberg, Rod St. Aubyn, Steve Tomac, Rich Wardner Representatives Ole Aarsvold, Al Carlson, Jack Dalrymple, Eliot Glassheim, Nancy Johnson, Myron Koppang, Ed Lloyd, Andrew G. Maragos, Bob Stefonowicz, Gerald O. Sveen, Janet Wentz

Roundtable Members

Hardin Aasand, Bethany Andreasen, Ryan Bernstein, Craig Caspers, Joseph Chapman, Beverly Clayburgh, Maggie Clemmens, Vern Dosch, Jennifer Feist, Bruce Furness, Red Geurts, Bill Goetz, Gary Hagen, Don Hedger, Bruce Henke, Dennis Hill, John Hoeven, William Isaacson, Larry Isaak (ex officio nonvoting), Jim Jensen, Dennis Johnson, Marlowe Johnson, Dave Kemnitz, Dale Knutson, John Korsmo, Richard Kunkel, Charles Kupchella, Max Laird, Carty Monette, Melvin Olson, Joe Peltier, Ryn Pitts, Ken Quamme, Roger Reierson, Wayne Sanstead, Jeanette Satrom, H. Erik Shaar, Charles Stroup, Donna Thigpen, Jodi Uecker-Rust, Sister Thomas Welder