MEETING NOTICE

Senator David E. Nething, Chairman, has called a meeting of the **HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE**, including the **HIGHER EDUCATION ROUNDTABLE**.

Date: Friday, October 29, 1999

Time: 9:30 a.m.

Place: Carrington Research Extension Center, 3½ miles north of Carrington on Highway 281

Agenda: Higher Education Roundtable, including presentation by Dr. Dennis Jones, President, National

Center for Higher Education Management Systems, Boulder, Colorado, and Dr. Charles Schwahn, Consultant, Custer, South Dakota, of a report on the planning assumptions, expectations, and success measurements identified at the September 28-29 meeting and discussion of higher education task force study assignments and operations; presentation by representatives of the Division of Independent Study of information regarding enrollments,

courses, personnel, facilities, and 1999-2001 budget information

Special Note: Anyone who plans to attend the meeting and needs assistance because of a disability should contact the Legislative Council staff as soon as possible.

Committee Members: Senators David E. Nething, Tim Flakoll, Tony Grindberg, Ray Holmberg, Ed Kringstad, Elroy N. Lindaas, Ken Solberg, Rod St. Aubyn, Steve Tomac, Rich Wardner; Representatives Ole Aarsvold, Al Carlson, Jack Dalrymple, Eliot Glassheim, Nancy Johnson, Myron Koppang, Ed Lloyd, Andrew G. Maragos, Bob Stefonowicz, Gerald O. Sveen, Janet Wentz

Roundtable Members: Hardin Aasand, Bethany Andreasen, Ryan Bernstein, Craig Caspers, Joseph Chapman, Beverly Clayburgh, Maggie Clemmens, Vern Dosch, Jennifer Feist, Bruce Furness, Red Geurts, Bill Goetz, Gary Hagen, Don Hedger, Bruce Henke, Dennis Hill, John Hoeven, William Isaacson, Larry Isaak, Jim Jensen, Dennis Johnson, Marlowe Johnson, Dave Kemnitz, Dale Knutson, John Korsmo, Richard Kunkel, Charles Kupchella, Max Laird, Carty Monette, Melvin Olson, Joe Peltier, Ryn Pitts, Ken Quamme, Roger Reierson, Wayne Sanstead, Jeanette Satrom, H. Erik Shaar, Charles Stroup, Donna Thigpen, Jodi Uecker-Rust, Sister Thomas Welder

Staff Contacts: Chester E. Nelson, Jr., Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor Jim W. Smith, Assistant Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor

Any member who is unable to attend this meeting is asked to please notify this office as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

John D. Olsrud Director

JDO/DS