NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

TAXATION COMMITTEE

Tuesday, February 8, 2000 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

- 9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of minutes of previous meeting
- 9:05 a.m. Comments by Mr. John Dwyer, President, North Dakota Lignite Energy Council, relating to the committee's study of taxation and regulatory incentives affecting the lignite industry
- 9:30 a.m. Committee discussion and directives relating to the lignite industry study
- 9:45 a.m. Coffee break
- 10:00 a.m. Presentation by representatives of the North Dakota Petroleum Marketers Association relating to compliance costs under the motor fuels tax laws
- 10:45 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Joan Galster, Motor Fuels Tax Section Supervisor, State Tax Department, relating to fuels tax law administration and enforcement efforts
- 11:15 a.m. Committee discussion and directives relating to the fuels tax laws study
- 11:45 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of two resolutions urging Congress to adopt legislation to assist retiring farmers
- 12:00 noon Luncheon recess
- 1:00 p.m. Presentations by Mr. Bill Patrie, Rural Development Director, North Dakota Association of Rural Electric Cooperatives, Mandan, Mr. Warren Enyart, Chief Executive Officer, Renewal Resources Research Institute, and Mr. Steven E. Noack, Attorney, Fargo, relating to encouraging investment in value-added agricultural enterprises
- 1:45 p.m. Committee discussion and directives
- 2:30 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators Randel Christmann (Chairman), Meyer Kinnoin, Kenneth Kroeplin, Randy A. Schobinger, Bob Stenehjem, Vern Thompson, Steve Tomac, Herb Urlacher

Representatives Wesley R. Belter, Mick Grosz, Pam Gulleson, C. B. Haas, Gil Herbel, Stacey L. Mickelson, Ronald Nichols, Dennis J. Renner, Earl Rennerfeldt, Arlo E. Schmidt, Ben Tollefson, John M. Warner, Ray H. Wikenheiser