NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

TAXATION COMMITTEE

Tuesday, June 20, 2000 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of minutes of previous meeting
9:05 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Joan Galster, Motor Fuels Tax Section Supervisor, State Tax Department, relating to fuels tax law administration and enforcement efforts
9:30 a.m.	Committee discussion and directives relating to the fuels tax laws study
9:40 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of five resolutions urging Congress to adopt legislation relating to committee studies of farm retirement issues and encouragement of investments in agricultural businesses
10:00 a.m.	Committee discussion and directives
10:15 a.m.	Coffee break
10:30 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Lance Gaebe, Executive Director, Agricultural Products Utilization Commission, relating to recent grant awards by the commission for agricultural projects
10:45 a.m.	Review by the Legislative Council staff of possible reasons for establishment of value-added agricultural projects as cooperatives and reasons opportunities are limited for outside investments in cooperatives
10:55 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft to establish a farmers equity trust fund
11:10 a.m.	Testimony of interested persons in attendance
11:30 a.m.	Committee discussion and directives relating to the committee's study of encouraging investment in value-added agricultural projects
11:45 a.m.	Adjourn and depart for a tour of the BP Amoco Mandan Refinery to include briefings on the distillate desulfurization unit and process control upgrade implemented with assistance of a 1999 sales tax exemption and updates on oil exploration and production activity and tax revenues
3:30 p.m.	Return to Capitol

Committee Members

Senators Randel Christmann (Chairman), Meyer Kinnoin, Kenneth Kroeplin, Randy A. Schobinger, Bob Stenehjem, Vern Thompson, Steve Tomac, Herb Urlacher

Representatives Wesley R. Belter, Mick Grosz, Pam Gulleson, C. B. Haas, Gil Herbel, Stacey L. Mickelson, Ronald Nichols, Dennis J. Renner, Earl Rennerfeldt, Arlo E. Schmidt, Ben Tollefson, John M. Warner, Ray H. Wikenheiser