## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

## Tentative Agenda

## **TAXATION COMMITTEE**

Friday, July 30, 1999 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Review of Legislative Council's supplementary rules of operation and procedure Comments of Chairman Christmann
9:15 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on the taxation and regulatory environment for North Dakota's lignite industry
9:45 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. John Dwyer, President, North Dakota Lignite Energy Council, relating to the lignite industry study
10:10 a.m.	Comments of interested persons in attendance
10:20 a.m.	Committee discussion and directives
10:30 a.m.	Coffee break
10:45 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on the fuels tax laws study
11:00 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Joan Galster, Director, Fuels Tax Division, Tax Department, relating to fuels tax law administration and 1999 legislative changes
11:30 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Ron Ness, North Dakota Fuel Dealers Association, relating to the effect of 1999 legislative changes
11:40 a.m.	Comments of interested persons in attendance
11:50 a.m.	Committee discussion and directives
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on the study of encouraging investment in agricultural business
1:10 p.m.	Presentation by a representative of the Economic Development Commission relating to incentives for investment in agricultural business
1:20 p.m.	Presentation by a representative of the Bank of North Dakota relating to Bank programs relating to investment in agricultural business
1:30 p.m.	Comments of interested persons in attendance
1:45 p.m.	Committee discussion and directives
2:00 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on the study of retirement fund treatment for investments by farmers and ranchers in their farming and ranching operations
2:10 p.m.	Testimony of interested persons in attendance
2:20 p.m.	Committee discussion and directives

3:00 p.m. Adjourn

## **Committee Members**

Senators Randel Christmann (Chairman), Meyer Kinnoin, Kenneth Kroeplin, Randy A. Schobinger, Bob Stenehjem, Vern Thompson, Steve Tomac, Herb Urlacher

Representatives Wesley R. Belter, Mick Grosz, Pam Gulleson, C. B. Haas, Gil Herbel, Stacey L. Mickelson, Ronald Nichols, Dennis J. Renner, Earl Rennerfeldt, Arlo E. Schmidt, Ben Tollefson, John M. Warner, Ray H. Wikenheiser