NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

TAXATION COMMITTEE

Thursday, November 4, 1999 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of minutes of previous meeting
9:05 a.m.	Presentation by a representative of the Public Service Commission to compare Public Service Commission rules affecting the lignite industry to corresponding federal requirements
9:30 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Murray Sagsveen, State Health Officer, to compare State Department of Health rules affecting the lignite industry to corresponding federal requirements
9:50 a.m.	Presentation by a Tax Department representative regarding the potential fiscal effect of reducing the coal severance tax by various increments
10:00 a.m.	Presentation by a representative of the office of the Attorney General relating to constitutional considerations regarding 1999 legislation on taxation of imported coal
10:15 a.m.	Testimony of interested persons in attendance
10:25 a.m.	Committee discussion and directives regarding the lignite industry study
10:30 a.m.	Coffee break
10:45 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Warren Enyart, Renewal Resources Research Institute, regarding establishment of agricultural businesses and encouraging investments in those businesses
11:15 a.m.	Review of correspondence from Mr. Jon Strinden, Fargo, regarding the farm retirement investment study
11:20 a.m.	Review of correspondence from the Commission on the Future of Agriculture relating to the committee's studies of agricultural business investment encouragement and farm retirement investments
11:25 a.m.	Testimony of interested persons in attendance
11:40 a.m.	Committee discussion and directives regarding the committee's studies of agricultural business investment encouragement and farm retirement investments
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Presentation by Ms. Joan Galster, State Tax Department, regarding administration of fuels tax laws
1:30 p.m.	Testimony of interested persons in attendance
1:40 p.m.	Committee discussion and directives relating to the fuels tax laws study

2:00 p.m. Consideration of information comparing tax structure and balance of state tax

systems

2:30 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators Randel Christmann (Chairman), Meyer Kinnoin, Kenneth Kroeplin, Randy A. Schobinger, Bob Stenehjem, Vern Thompson, Steve Tomac, Herb Urlacher

Representatives Wesley R. Belter, Mick Grosz, Pam Gulleson, C. B. Haas, Gil Herbel, Stacey L. Mickelson, Ronald Nichols, Dennis J. Renner, Earl Rennerfeldt, Arlo E. Schmidt, Ben Tollefson, John M. Warner, Ray H. Wikenheiser