## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

## Tentative Agenda

## **EDUCATION COMMITTEE**

Wednesday and Thursday, January 23-24, 2002 Roughrider Room Bismarck, North Dakota

# Wednesday, January 23, 2002

| •          | • •  |
|------------|--|
| 9:00 a.m.  | Call to order Roll call Consideration of minutes of previous meeting   |
| 9:05 a.m.  | Presentation by Mr. Tom Decker, Director of Finance and Organization, Department of Public Instruction, regarding demographic updates and issues of educational adequacy and equity  |
| 9:35 a.m.  | Presentation by Mr. Greg Gallagher, Director, School Improvement, Department of Public Instruction, regarding North Dakota's national ranking with respect to the provision of a quality education   |
| 10:00 a.m. | Presentation by Dr. Gary Gronberg, Assistant Superintendent, Department of Public Instruction, regarding provisions of recent federal education legislation  |
| 10:30 a.m. | Coffee break   |
| 10:45 a.m. | Presentation by Mr. Chris Kalash, Program Administrator, Educational Technology, Department of Public Instruction, and Mr. Dan Pullen, Director, North Dakota Educational Technology Council, regarding technology in North Dakota schools |
| 11:15 a.m. | Presentation by Dr. Gronberg regarding state educational requirements  |
| 12:00 noon | Luncheon recess  |
| 1:00 p.m.  | Continuation of the presentation regarding state educational requirements  |
| 1:30 p.m.  | Presentation by Ms. Anita Decker, Director, School District Approval and Accreditation, regarding school district fire inspections   |
| 2:00 p.m.  | Presentation by Mr. Decker regarding regional service units and a reduction in the number of school districts  |
| 2:45 p.m.  | Coffee break   |
| 3:00 p.m.  | Continuation of the presentation regarding regional service units and a reduction in the number of school districts  |
| 4:00 p.m.  | Recess   |

## Thursday, January 24, 2002

9:00 a.m. Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion

Staff directives

12:00 noon Adjourn

#### **Committee Members**

Senators Dwight Cook (Chairman), Tim Flakoll, Layton Freborg, Jerome Kelsh, David O'Connell, Terry M. Wanzek

Representatives Larry Bellew, James Boehm, Thomas T. Brusegaard, Lois Delmore, Howard Grumbo, C. B. Haas, Lyle Hanson, Kathy Hawken, Bob Hunskor, Dennis E. Johnson, RaeAnn G. Kelsch, Lisa Meier, David Monson, Phillip Mueller, Darrell D. Nottestad, Dorvan Solberg, Laurel Thoreson