Revised 3/27/02

## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

# **EDUCATION COMMITTEE**

### Wednesday and Thursday, April 3-4, 2002 House Chamber, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

#### Wednesday, April 3, 2002

- 9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of minutes of previous meeting
- 9:05 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Ray Lambrecht, State Fire Marshal, and Ms. Anita Decker, Director, School District Approval and Accreditation, Department of Public Instruction, regarding school district fire inspections
- 9:45 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft that would reorganize current school districts into 62 school districts and a bill draft that would provide for the creation of from 76 to 81 districts
- 10:00 a.m. Presentation by Department of Public Instruction personnel regarding ongoing school district organizations
- 10:15 a.m. Coffee break
- 10:30 a.m. Presentations by Department of Public Instruction personnel regarding the effects of reorganizing school districts into 62 districts and the effects of providing for the creation of from 76 to 81 school districts
- 12:00 noon Luncheon recess
- 1:00 p.m. Presentation by Ms. Fay Kopp, Deputy Executive Director, North Dakota Retirement and Investment Office, regarding the retirement of school district superintendents
- 1:30 p.m. Presentation by Department of Public Instruction personnel regarding the potential impact of the proposed bill drafts on teacher recruitment, retention, and salaries
- 2:00 p.m. Comments by interested persons
- 2:45 p.m. Coffee break
- 3:00 p.m. Continuation of comments by interested persons
- 3:30 p.m. Committee discussion
- 5:00 p.m. Recess

#### Thursday, April 4, 2002

- 9:00 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding school district transportation
- 9:15 a.m. Comments by interested persons
- 10:15 a.m. Coffee break
- 10:30 a.m. Continuation of comments by interested persons
- 11:00 a.m. Committee discussion and staff directives

12:00 noon Adjourn

#### **Committee Members**

Senators Dwight Cook (Chairman), Tim Flakoll, Layton Freborg, Jerome Kelsh, David O'Connell, Terry M. Wanzek

Representatives Larry Bellew, James Boehm, Thomas T. Brusegaard, Lois Delmore, Howard Grumbo, C. B. Haas, Lyle Hanson, Kathy Hawken, Bob Hunskor, Dennis E. Johnson, RaeAnn G. Kelsch, Lisa Meier, David Monson, Phillip Mueller, Darrell D. Nottestad, Dorvan Solberg, Laurel Thoreson