## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

## Tentative Agenda

## **EDUCATION COMMITTEE**

Friday, August 24, 2001 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Review of Legislative Council supplementary rules of operation and procedure Comments by the chairman
9:10 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum relating to the delivery of elementary and secondary education
9:30 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Tom Decker, Director of Finance and Organization, Department of Public Instruction, regarding school district finance and organization
10:00 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Keith Gustafson, Peace Garden Special Education Unit, and Mr. Ralph Charley, Souris Valley Special Education Unit, regarding the reorganization of special education units
10:30 a.m.	Coffee break
10:45 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum relating to teacher compensation
11:00 a.m.	Comments by interested persons regarding the study of elementary and secondary education and the study of teacher compensation
11:20 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Kent Hjelmstad, Superintendent, Mandan Public School District, regarding the evaluation of teachers
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum relating to state and local tax structures for the funding of elementary and secondary education
1:15 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum relating to issues of school district transportation
1:30 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Decker regarding school district transportation
1:45 p.m.	Comments by interested persons regarding the study of state and local tax structures for the funding of elementary and secondary education and the study of school district transportation
2:30 p.m.	Coffee break
2:45 p.m.	Committee discussion and staff directives
3:30 p.m.	Adjourn

## **Committee Members**

Senators Dwight C. Cook (Chairman), Tim Flakoll, Layton Freborg, Jerome Kelsh, David O'Connell, Terry M. Wanzek

Representatives Larry Bellew, James Boehm, Thomas T. Brusegaard, Lois Delmore, Howard Grumbo, C. B. Haas, Lyle Hanson, Kathy Hawken, Bob Hunskor, Dennis E. Johnson, RaeAnn G. Kelsch, Lisa Meier, David Monson, Phillip Mueller, Darrell D. Nottestad, Dorvan Solberg, Laurel Thoreson