NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Thursday, October 10, 2002 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of minutes from previous meeting
9:05 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Raymond Lambert, State Fire Marshal, regarding school fire inspections
9:30 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft relating to school district long-term plans
9:35 a.m.	Comments by interested persons
	Committee discussion and staff directives
9:45 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft relating to an appropriation for a student achievement and teacher quality pilot project
9:50 a.m.	Comments by interested persons
	Committee discussion and staff directives
10:00 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft relating to high school course offerings
10:05 a.m.	Comments by interested persons
	Committee discussion and staff directives
10:30 a.m.	Coffee break
10:45 a.m.	Presentation of a report by a representative of the Department of Public Instruction regarding requests for waivers of rules governing school accreditation
10:50 a.m.	Presentation of a report by a representative of the Department of Public Instruction regarding requests for waivers of North Dakota Century Code Section 15.1-21-03 relating to instructional time for high school units
10:55 a.m.	Presentation of a report by Dr. David Larson, Department of Public Instruction, regarding school district employee compensation
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Presentation of a report by a representative of the Department of Public Instruction regarding student test scores in reading and mathematics
1:30 p.m.	Presentation by representatives of the Department of Public Instruction regarding No Child Left Behind Act of 2001
2:45 p.m.	Coffee break
3:00 p.m.	Committee discussion and staff directives
	Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators Dwight Cook (Chairman), Tim Flakoll, Layton Freborg, Jerome Kelsh, David O'Connell, Terry M. Wanzek

Representatives Larry Bellew, James Boehm, Thomas T. Brusegaard, Lois Delmore, Howard Grumbo, C. B. Haas, Lyle Hanson, Kathy Hawken, Bob Hunskor, Dennis E. Johnson, RaeAnn G. Kelsch, Lisa Meier, David Monson, Phillip Mueller, Darrell D. Nottestad, Dorvan Solberg, Laurel Thoreson