NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

FAMILY LAW COMMITTEE

Friday, September 13, 2002 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of minutes of the July 1, 2002, meeting Comments by the committee chairman
ADOPTION LAW STUDY	
9:05 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of the child-placing agency bill draft
9:10 a.m.	Comments by Ms. Julie Hoffman, Administrator of Adoption Services, Division of Child and Family Services, Department of Human Services, regarding the child-placing agency bill draft, the paternity registry bill draft, and in vitro fertilization as it may apply to adoption law
9:30 a.m.	Comments by interested persons
9:40 a.m.	Committee discussion and directives
PRIVACY STUDY	
9:45 a.m.	Comments by Mr. Timothy Karsky, Commissioner, Department of Financial Institutions, regarding the financial privacy bill draft and the financial privacy activities of the State Banking Board
10:00 a.m.	Comments by a representative of Protect our Privacy regarding the financial privacy bill draft
10:10 a.m.	Comments by Ms. Marilyn Foss, North Dakota Bankers Association, regarding the financial privacy bill draft
10:25 a.m.	Comments by Mr. Gregory W. Tschider, North Dakota Credit Union League, regarding the financial privacy bill draft
10:30 a.m.	Comments by interested persons
10:50 a.m.	Committee discussion and directives
11:00 a.m.	Coffee break
ADMINISTRATION OF CHILD SUPPORT STUDY	
11:15 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of study resolutions regarding the impact of the loss of taxable property on the ability of local communities to fund social services and regarding the state and county funding of social services
11:20 a.m.	Comments by Mr. Mike Schwindt, Director, Child Support Enforcement, Department of Human Services, regarding the status of federal rules addressing child support services provided to Indians, the state administration of child support bill draft, and the possibility of charging child support obligors fees
11:40 a.m.	Comments by interested persons
11:50 a.m.	Committee discussion and directives
12:00 noon	Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives John Mahoney (Chairman), Lois Delmore, Mary Ekstrom, Roxanne Jensen, Jim Kasper, Lawrence R. Klemin, Carol A. Niemeier, Dan Ruby, Sally M. Sandvig, Dwight Wrangham Senators Linda Christenson, Dick Dever, Robert S. Erbele, Michael A. Every, Russell T. Thane, Darlene Watne