# NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

# HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Wednesday, July 18, 2001 Nautilus-Lightning Room, Seven Seas Inn Mandan, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call

### HIGHER EDUCATION ROUNDTABLE

Representatives of business, industry, the State Board of Higher Education, the institutions of higher education, higher education students, the executive branch, and private and tribal higher education institutions will join the committee for a Higher Education Roundtable discussion.

- 9:05 a.m. Comments by Senator Dave Nething regarding the 1999-2000 interim study of higher education funding, the Higher Education Roundtable, and a review of legislative action regarding roundtable recommendations
- 9:20 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of an overview of major roundtable findings and recommendations
- 9:30 a.m. Comments regarding roundtable findings, recommendations, and implementation status by Governor John Hoeven or his designee
- 9:50 a.m. Comments regarding roundtable findings, recommendations, and implementation status by Mr. Chuck Stroup, President, State Board of Higher Education
- 10:10 a.m. Comments by Mr. Dennis Jones, President, National Center for Higher Education Management Systems, Boulder, Colorado, regarding the implementation status of roundtable recommendations and plans for the 2001-02 interim
- 11:00 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Roger Reierson, Chair of New Economy Initiative, of a review of the New Economy Initiative and its linkage to the roundtable cornerstones and recommendations
- 11:20 a.m. Comments by Mr. Larry Isaak, Chancellor, North Dakota University System, regarding the committee's study of higher education performance and accountability measures, including the status of implementation of recommendations from the Higher Education Roundtable report and the progress toward establishing a performance and accountability report, a long-term financing plan, and a long-term enrollment management plan
- 11:50 a.m. Roundtable discussion
  - Progress to date and suggested future actions to sustain the vision and the momentum
- 12:00 noon Conclusion of Higher Education Roundtable
  Luncheon recess

## HIGHER EDUCATION PERFORMANCE AND ACCOUNTABILITY MEASURES STUDY

1:00 p.m. Review of Legislative Council supplementary rules of operation and procedure

1:05 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum

regarding the committee's study, as directed by Section 18 of Senate Bill No. 2003, of the State Board of Higher Education's implementation of the performance and

accountability measures report required by 2001 Senate Bill No. 2041

1:10 p.m. Comments by other interested persons regarding the committee's study of higher

education performance and accountability measures

# STUDY OF THE COLLEGE TECHNICAL EDUCATION COUNCIL AND THE WORKFORCE TRAINING REGIONS

1:20 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding the committee's study of the responsibility and functions of the College Technical Education Council and the implementation of the workforce training regions as directed by Section 17 of Senate Bill No. 2003

1:30 p.m. Comments by Mr. Eddie Dunn, Vice Chancellor for Strategic Planning, and Executive Director, College Technical Education Council, regarding the committee's study of the College Technical Education Council and the workforce training regions, including information on responsibilities and functions of the council and the establishment and function of the workforce training regions

Comments by interested persons regarding the committee's study of the College

Technical Education Council and the workforce training regions

2:00 p.m. Committee discussion and staff directives

2:15 p.m. Adjourn

1:50 p.m.

#### **Committee Members**

Senators Dave Nething (Chairman), Linda Christenson, Tim Flakoll, Tony Grindberg, Ray Holmberg, Ed Kringstad, Elroy N. Lindaas, Ken Solberg, Rich Wardner

Representatives Ole Aarsvold, Rachael Disrud, Eliot Glassheim, Michael Grosz, Pam Gulleson, Roxanne Jensen, Nancy Johnson, Myron Koppang, Bob Martinson, Ralph Metcalf, Bill Pietsch, Janet Wentz, Lonny Winrich

# **Roundtable Members**

Hardin Aasand, Craig Caspers, Joseph A. Chapman, Beverly Clayburgh, Vern Dosch, Jennifer Feist, Bruce Furness, Red Geurts, Bill Goetz, James Grijalva, Gary D. Hagen, Don Hedger, Bruce Henke, Dennis Hill, William B. Isaacson, Larry Isaak (ex officio nonvoting), Jim Jensen, Dennis Johnson, Marlowe Johnson, David Kemnitz, Ralph Kingsbury, Dale Knutson, John Korsmo, Richard Kunkel, Charles E. Kupchella, Wayne Kutzer, Craig Larson, Heather J. Lee, Philip Leitner, Gloria Lokken, Carty Monette, Lee Peterson, Ryn Pitts, Ken J. Quamme, Roger Reierson, Wayne Sanstead, H. Erik Shaar, Chuck Stroup, Donna Thigpen, Jodi Uecker-Rust, Sister Thomas Welder, Curtis L. Wolfe