NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

JUDICIARY B COMMITTEE

Tuesday, January 22, 2002 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

- 9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of minutes of previous meeting
- 9:10 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft relating to trusts for individuals with disabilities
- 9:15 a.m. Comments by interested persons
- 9:40 a.m. Committee discussion
- 9:45 a.m. Coffee break
- 10:00 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a memorandum on hunting guides
- 10:15 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft relating to the testing of hunting guides on hunting laws
- 10:20 a.m. Comments by interested persons
- 10:35 a.m. Committee discussion
- 10:40 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft relating to guides reporting the names and addresses of clients to the Game and Fish Department
- 10:45 a.m. Comments by interested persons
- 10:55 a.m. Committee discussion
- 11:00 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Noel Poe, Superintendent, Theodore Roosevelt National Park, on the history and management of elk in the park
- 11:20 a.m. Questions and comments by committee members
- 11:35 a.m. Comments by interested persons
- 11:45 a.m. Luncheon recess
- 1:00 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of responses by county recorders to survey of land owned by nonresidents
- 1:05 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff on the Taxation Committee's study of the taxation of guides and outfitters
- 1:10 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of the results of a survey of guides on land used for hunting purposes
- 1:15 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Roger Rostvet, Deputy Director, Game and Fish Department, on the future survey of North Dakota's landowners, resident hunters, and nonresident hunters

- 1:35 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft relating to an increase in the speed limit
- 1:40 p.m. Comments by interested persons
- 2:00 p.m. Committee discussion
- 2:10 p.m. Coffee break
- 2:25 p.m. Presentation by a representative from the Department of Transportation on the cost of traffic offense administration and on driving without a license
- 2:35 p.m. Comments by interested persons
- 2:50 p.m. Committee discussion
- 2:55 p.m. Presentation by a representative from the Department of Transportation on the effectiveness of exempting a secured person from noneconomic loss by certain injured persons operating a motor vehicle and uninsured motorists
- 3:05 p.m. Comments by interested persons
- 3:10 p.m. Committee discussion
- 3:15 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

- Representatives Lois Delmore (Chairman), Curtis E. Brekke, David Drovdal, G. Jane Gunter, Lyle Hanson, Dennis E. Johnson, William E. Kretschmar, Jon O. Nelson, Todd Porter, Dorvan Solberg, Elwood Thorpe
- Senators Dennis Bercier, Michael A. Every, Thomas Fischer, Ben Tollefson, John T. Traynor, Tom Trenbeath