## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

## Tentative Agenda

## JUDICIARY B COMMITTEE

Wednesday and Thursday, May 8-9, 2002
Dakota and Evergreen Rooms, Best Western Badlands Inn
Dickinson, North Dakota
Roughrider Room, State Capitol
Bismarck, North Dakota

# Wednesday, May 8, 2002 - Dakota and Evergreen Rooms, Best Western Badlands Inn, Dickinson

Biokinson	
9:00 a.m. (MDT)	Call to order Roll call Consideration of minutes of previous meeting
9:10 a.m.	Review by the Legislative Council staff of bill drafts relating to speed limits and points and fees for speeding
9:15 a.m.	Comments by interested persons
9:20 a.m.	Committee discussion
9:25 a.m.	Review by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft relating to the testing of guides on hunting laws
9:30 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a second draft of a bill draft relating to the reporting by guides of clients' names and addresses to the Game and Fish Department
9:35 a.m.	Comments by interested persons
9:40 a.m.	Committee discussion
9:45 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Kyle Blanchfield, North Dakota Guides and Outfitters Association, on requirements for guides and outfitters
9:55 a.m.	Coffee break
10:10 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a resolution urging Congress to allow the hunting of elk in Theodore Roosevelt National Park
10:15 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Russ Johnson, Alliance to Manage Elk in North Dakota, on issues relating to elk
10:20 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Ike Hecker, Medora Grazing Association, on issues relating to elk
10:25 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Loran Jacobson, Little Missouri Grazing Association, on issues relating to elk
10:30 a.m.	Comments by interested persons
11:00 a.m.	Committee discussion
11:05 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Roger Rostvet, Deputy Director, Game and Fish Department, on the status of department activities
11:15 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. John Hanson, outfitter and rancher, on hunting access and landowner issues

11:30 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Terri Thiel, Executive Director, Dickinson Convention and Visitors Bureau, on restrictions on hunters and guides 11:45 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Sue Johnsrud, Treasurer, West River Regional Tourism Council, on restrictions on hunters and guides 12:00 noon Luncheon recess Review by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft relating to a cap on nonresident 1:15 p.m. waterfowl hunters of 15,000 per year 1:20 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft creating two 7-day and two 10-day periods for nonresident waterfowl hunters and limiting the number of hunters to 7,500 per period and a bill draft creating four 7-day periods for nonresident waterfowl hunters and limiting the number of hunters to 7,500 per period with a discount in the fee for the last two periods 1:25 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft creating seven-day consecutive periods for nonresident waterfowl hunting and limiting the number of hunters to 5,000 per period 1:30 p.m. Comments by interested persons 2:15 p.m. Committee discussion Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft creating a centralized 2:25 p.m. process for noncriminal traffic offense administration 2:30 p.m. Comments by interested persons 2:45 p.m. Recess Thursday, May 9, 2002 - Roughrider Room, State Capitol, Bismarck 9:00 a.m. (CDT) Call to order 9:05 a.m. Review by the Legislative Council staff of bill drafts on speed limits, points and fees for speeding, and a centralized process for noncriminal traffic offense administration Comments by interested persons 9:15 a.m. 9:35 a.m. Committee discussion 9:45 a.m. Coffee break 10:00 a.m. Review by the Legislative Council staff of bill drafts on testing guides and outfitters on hunting laws and reporting by guides of clients' names and addresses to the Game and Fish Department 10:05 a.m. Comments by interested persons 10:10 a.m. Committee discussion

10:15 a.m. Review by the Legislative Council staff of bill drafts on managing nonresident

waterfowl hunters

10:25 a.m. Comments by interested persons

11:30 a.m. Luncheon recess

1:00 p.m. Committee discussion

2:00 p.m. Adjourn

## **Committee Members**

Representatives Lois Delmore (Chairman), Curtis E. Brekke, David Drovdal, G. Jane Gunter, Lyle Hanson, Dennis E. Johnson, William E. Kretschmar, Jon O. Nelson, Todd Porter, Dorvan Solberg, Elwood Thorpe

Senators Dennis Bercier, Michael A. Every, Thomas Fischer, Ben Tollefson, John T. Traynor, Tom Trenbeath