## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

**Tentative Agenda** 

## **TAXATION COMMITTEE**

Thursday, July 19, 2001 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

- 9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Review of Legislative Council supplementary rules of operation and procedure
- 9:10 a.m. Comments by the committee chairman on Taxation Committee interim activities
- 9:15 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on property tax assessments and abatements
- 9:30 a.m. Comments of interested persons in attendance
- 9:40 a.m. Committee discussion and directives regarding the study of property tax assessments and abatements
- 9:50 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on the assessment of agricultural property
- 10:05 a.m. Comments of interested persons in attendance
- 10:10 a.m. Committee discussion and directives regarding the study of the assessment of agricultural property
- 10:20 a.m. Coffee break
- 10:40 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on the homestead property tax credit
- 11:00 a.m. Comments of interested persons in attendance
- 11:10 a.m. Committee discussion and directives regarding the study of the homestead property tax credit
- 11:20 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on special assessments
- 11:40 a.m. Testimony of interested persons in attendance
- 11:50 a.m. Committee discussion and directives regarding the study of special assessments
- 12:00 noon Luncheon recess
- 1:00 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on corporate income taxes
- 1:15 p.m. Testimony of interested persons in attendance
- 1:20 p.m. Committee discussion and directives regarding the study of corporate income taxes
- 1:30 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on tobacco, alcohol, and fuels tax compliance and jurisdiction issues
- 1:50 p.m. Testimony of interested persons in attendance

- 2:00 p.m. Committee discussion and directives regarding the study of tobacco, alcohol, and fuels tax compliance and jurisdiction issues
- 2:30 p.m. Adjourn

## **Committee Members**

- Senators Rich Wardner (Chairman), Dwight Cook, Kenneth Kroeplin, Ronald Nichols, Randy A. Schobinger, Ben Tollefson, Herb Urlacher
- Representatives Michael Brandenburg, Al Carlson, Byron Clark, David Drovdal, Michael Grosz, Gil Herbel, Frank Klein, Joe Kroeber, Edward H. Lloyd, Eugene Nicholas, Kenton Onstad, Dennis J. Renner, Earl Rennerfeldt, Dan Ruby, Arlo E. Schmidt, Ray H. Wikenheiser