NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

CRIMINAL JUSTICE COMMITTEE

Thursday, February 5, 2004 Harvest Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Approval of minutes of November 10, 2003, meeting
INDIGENT DEFENSE STUDY	
9:10 a.m.	Presentation by Judge Donald L. Jorgenson, South Central Judicial District, regarding the administration fee imposed under 2003 House Bill No. 1088
9:30 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Kevin Chapman, Williston, regarding his experience as an indigent defense contract attorney in the Northwest Judicial District
9:55 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Marea Beeman, Spangenberg Group, regarding a review of indigent defense services in the state
	Presentation by Ms. Sandi Tabor, Chairman, State Bar Association Indigent Defense Task Force, regarding the recommendations of the task force
10:40 a.m.	Coffee break
10:55 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Robert Ansley, United States District Court, regarding the federal indigent defense system
11:20 a.m.	Presentation of information regarding salaries and student debtload of recent law school graduates
11:30 a.m.	Comments by other interested persons
11:45 a.m.	Committee discussion
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	VULNERABLE ADULT ABUSE AND NEGLECT STUDY Presentation by a representative of the North Dakota Medical Association regarding the issue of mandatory reporting of vulnerable adult abuse and neglect
1:15 p.m.	Comments from other interested persons
1:20 p.m.	Committee discussion
GUARDIANSHIP STUDY	
1:30 p.m.	Presentation by Ms. Donna Byzewski, Cochairman, North Dakota Guardianship Task Force, regarding the results of the guardianship survey
	Presentation by Mr. Rodger Wetzel, North Dakota Guardianship Task Force, regarding proposed legislation
2:15 p.m.	Comments from other interested persons regarding the guardianship study
2:25 p.m.	Committee discussion

LAW ENFORCEMENT TRAINING NEEDS STUDY

2:40 p.m. Presentation of information by Mr. Richard Bendish and other members of the Peace Officer Standards and Training Board regarding law enforcement training courses and costs, training budgets, course availability, and other law enforcement training issues

3:40 p.m. Comments by other interested persons

3:55 p.m. Committee discussion

4:00 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives Lois Delmore (Chairman), Bill Amerman, Randy Boehning, Ron Carlisle, Duane DeKrey, Dennis Johnson, Lawrence R. Klemin, William E. Kretschmar, Carol A. Niemeier, Mike Norland

Senators Stanley W. Lyson, John T. Traynor, Thomas L. Trenbeath, Constance Triplett