## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

## **CRIMINAL JUSTICE COMMITTEE**

Monday, November 10, 2003 Harvest Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Approval of minutes of August 12, 2003, meeting
9:10 a.m.	INDIGENT DEFENSE STUDY  Presentation by Chief Justice Gerald W. VandeWalle, Supreme Court, regarding the indigent defense study
9:30 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Ted Gladden, State Court Administrator, Supreme Court, regarding the state's indigent defense budget, caseload, and the estimated cost of a statewide public defender system
9:50 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Sandi Tabor, Chairman, State Bar Association of North Dakota Indigent Defense Task Force, regarding the status of the indigent defense task force and information regarding the Spangenberg Group
10:10 a.m.	Presentation of information regarding average law student debt load; student loan forgiveness programs; and the federal indigent defense system
10:25 a.m.	Comments by other interested persons
	Committee discussion
10:35 a.m.	Coffee break
10:50 a.m.	LAW ENFORCEMENT TRAINING STUDY  Presentations regarding the law enforcement training needs of the state by:
	<ul> <li>Mr. Mark Gilbertson, Executive Secretary, Peace Officer Standards and Training Board</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>Ms. Connie Sprynczynatyk, North Dakota League of Cities</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>Mr. Terry Traynor, North Dakota Association of Counties</li> </ul>
	Mr. Scott Busching, member, Peace Officer Standards and Training Board
	<ul> <li>Mr. Kim Murphy, member, Peace Officer Standards and Training Board</li> </ul>
11:50 a.m.	Comments from other interested persons
	Committee discussion
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	GUARDIANSHIP STUDY  Presentation by Ms. Donna Byzewski, Cochairman, North Dakota Guardianship Task Force, regarding the results of the guardianship survey, the needs of the affected
	population, and other guardianship services issues

2:15 p.m. Committee discussion

2:30 p.m. Adjourn

## **Committee Members**

Representatives Lois Delmore (Chairman), Bill Amerman, Randy Boehning, Ron Carlisle, Duane DeKrey, Dennis Johnson, Lawrence R. Klemin, William E. Kretschmar, Carol A. Niemeier, Mike Norland

Senators Stanley W. Lyson, John T. Traynor, Thomas L. Trenbeath