## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

## Tentative Agenda

## **EDUCATION COMMITTEE**

Wednesday, March 31, 2004 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of minutes from previous meeting
9:05 a.m.	Presentation by Department of Public Instruction staff regarding teacher compensation and the receipt of any notices from the boards of school districts pertaining to grounds for not using at least 70 percent of new money for teacher compensation increases
9:30 a.m.	Presentation by Department of Public Instruction staff regarding data collection and reporting requirements
10:00 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Tom Decker, Director, School Finance and Organization, Department of Public Instruction, regarding school district demographics
10:30 a.m.	Coffee break
10:45 a.m.	Presentation by Dr. Kendall Nygaard, Chairman, Department of Computer Science, North Dakota State University, regarding data envelopment analysis
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Presentation by Department of Public Instruction staff regarding the provision of transportation by school districts
1:15 p.m.	Presentation by Department of Public Instruction staff regarding reconfiguration of weighting factors
1:30 p.m.	Presentation by Department of Public Instruction staff regarding supplemental payments
1:45 p.m.	Presentation by Department of Public Instruction staff regarding school district ending fund balances
2:15 p.m.	Coffee break
2:30 p.m.	Presentation by Department of Public Instruction staff regarding school district residency determinations
3:45 p.m.	Comments by interested persons Committee discussion Staff directives Adjourn

## **Committee Members**

Senators Layton Freborg (Chairman), Dwight Cook, Robert S. Erbele, Tim Flakoll, Gary A. Lee, Constance Triplett

Representatives Merle Boucher, Thomas Brusegaard, Lois Delmore, Pat Galvin, C. B. Haas, Lyle Hanson, Kathy Hawken, Gil Herbel, Bob Hunskor, Dennis Johnson, RaeAnn G. Kelsch, Lisa Meier, David Monson, Phillip Mueller, Jon O. Nelson, Mike Norland, Margaret Sitte, Clark Williams