NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Wednesday, September 8, 2004 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

- 9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of minutes from previous meeting
- 9:05 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Douglas A. Bahr, Director of Civil Litigation, Attorney General's office, regarding the status of *Williston Public School District No. 1 v. State of North Dakota*
- 9:15 a.m. Presentation by Department of Public Instruction staff regarding teacher compensation
- 10:00 a.m. Coffee break
- 10:15 a.m. Presentation by Department of Public Instruction staff regarding data collection
- 10:30 a.m. Presentation by Department of Public Instruction staff regarding supplemental payments and impact aid
- 11:00 a.m. Presentation by Department of Public Instruction staff regarding school district reorganizations and joint powers agreements
- 12:00 noon Luncheon recess
- 1:00 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Bob Rutten, Director of Special Education, Department of Public Instruction, regarding school district residency determinations
- 1:15 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Bruce Furness, Mayor, City of Fargo, regarding taxation issues affecting the Fargo and West Fargo School Districts
- 1:45 p.m. Presentation by Department of Public Instruction staff regarding data envelopment analysis
- 2:45 p.m. Coffee break
- 3:00 p.m. Comments by interested persons
 - Committee discussion
 - Staff directives
- 4:00 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators Layton Freborg (Chairman), Dwight Cook, Robert S. Erbele, Tim Flakoll, Gary A. Lee, Constance Triplett

Representatives Merle Boucher, Thomas Brusegaard, Lois Delmore, Pat Galvin, C. B. Haas, Lyle Hanson, Kathy Hawken, Gil Herbel, Bob Hunskor, Dennis Johnson, RaeAnn G. Kelsch, Lisa Meier, David Monson, Phillip Mueller, Jon O. Nelson, Mike Norland, Margaret Sitte, Clark Williams