NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Monday, December 1, 2003 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Approval of minutes from previous meeting

9:05 a.m. Committee discussion regarding the following components of elementary and

secondary education finance in the state:

Per student payments

Weighting factors

Equalization factors

Supplemental payments

Mill levy caps

Teacher compensation payments

Annual minimum teacher salaries

Tuition apportionment

Vocational education

Joint powers agreements

Nonoperating districts

12:00 noon Luncheon recess

1:00 p.m. Committee discussion continued

3:30 p.m. Staff directives

4:00 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators Layton Freborg (Chairman), Dwight Cook, Robert S. Erbele, Tim Flakoll, Gary A. Lee, Constance Triplett

Representatives Merle Boucher, Thomas Brusegaard, Lois Delmore, Pat Galvin, C. B. Haas, Lyle Hanson, Kathy Hawken, Gil Herbel, Bob Hunskor, Dennis Johnson, RaeAnn G. Kelsch, Lisa Meier, David Monson, Phillip Mueller, Jon O. Nelson, Mike Norland, Margaret Sitte, Clark Williams