NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Monday and Tuesday, June 14-15, 2004
Prairie Room, Student Union, Bismarck State College
East Heritage Room, Doublewood Inn
Bismarck, North Dakota

Monday, June 14, 2004 - Prairie Room, Student Union, Bismarck State College, 1500 Edwards Avenue (This portion of the meeting is for Higher Education Committee members only.)

BISMARCK STATE COLLEGE - MEETING AND BUDGET TOUR

The committee will conduct a meeting and budget tour of Bismarck State College. Legislators are encouraged to park in the parking lot on the east side of the Student Union.

11:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of minutes from the April 21-22 and May 3-4, 2004, meetings

11:05 a.m. Presentation by representatives of Bismarck State College regarding:

- The status of the 2003-05 budget
- An analysis of current enrollment information and information on long-term enrollment plans
- Salary adjustments provided for 2003-04 and planned for 2004-05, including information on the funding methodology for the adjustments
- Tuition rates, including information on rate changes, planned uses of additional revenue generated, and planned uses of the tuition waiver option
- Current buildings and land utilization and plans for and the status of any plant improvements during the 2003-05 biennium and 2005-07 plant improvement needs
- Plans for and accomplishments regarding the Higher Education Roundtable recommendations in the areas of:

Economic development Educational excellence

Flexible and responsive system

Accessible system Funding and rewards

12:30 p.m. Luncheon recess, including comments by Dr. Robert Potts (incoming chancellor for

the North Dakota University System) regarding his upcoming role as chancellor of

the North Dakota University System

1:00 p.m. Continuation of Bismarck State College presentation

2:00 p.m. Budget tour of Bismarck State College facilities

3:30 p.m. Recess

Tuesday, June 15, 2004 - East Heritage Room, Doublewood Inn, I-94 and Exit 159

HIGHER EDUCATION ROUNDTABLE

Representatives of business, industry, the State Board of Higher Education, the institutions of higher education, higher education students, the executive branch, and private and tribal higher education institutions will join the committee for a Higher Education Roundtable discussion

9:00 a.m. Roll call

9:05 a.m.	Comments by Senator Ray Holmberg, Chairman, Higher Education Committee, regarding the purpose and intended outcomes of the Higher Education Roundtable meeting
9:15 a.m.	Introduction of roundtable members
9:20 a.m.	Comments by Dr. Robert Potts regarding the Higher Education Roundtable process
9:30 a.m.	Comments by members of a private sector panel regarding progress made, the current status, and further actions needed to enhance the economic and social vitality of the state and make the state even more attractive for business attraction and expansion
10:15 a.m.	Comments by presidents of North Dakota University System higher education institutions, who are members of the Higher Education Roundtable, regarding the impact of the roundtable on higher education in the state
10:40 a.m.	Coffee break
10:55 a.m.	Comments by Mr. Dennis Jones, President, National Center for Higher Education Management Systems, Boulder, Colorado, regarding comments made by the private sector and institution presidents, observations on roundtable achievements, and remaining challenges for the stakeholders of higher education in North Dakota
11:30 a.m.	Questions and answers with private sector panel members, institution presidents, and Mr. Jones
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Convene discussion groups to consider comments and recommendations made by members of the private sector, institution presidents, and Mr. Jones and to develop recommendations for action by the Legislative Assembly, State Board of Higher Education, executive branch, and the private sector
2:30 p.m.	Comments by representatives of the discussion groups regarding recommendations for action by the Legislative Assembly, State Board of Higher Education, the executive branch, and the private sector
4:00 p.m.	Comments by Chairman Holmberg regarding the Higher Education Roundtable process and recommendations
4:10 p.m.	Roundtable discussion
4:30 p.m.	Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators Ray Holmberg (Chairman), Tim Flakoll, Tony S. Grindberg, Ed Kringstad, Elroy N. Lindaas, Dave Nething

Representatives Ole Aarsvold, Thomas Brusegaard, Bette B. Grande, Kathy Hawken, Nancy Johnson, Frank Klein, Bob Martinson, Eugene Nicholas, Darrell D. Nottestad, Steven L. Zaiser

Roundtable Members

Hardin Aasand, Sue Andrews, John Botsford, Ann Burnett, Linda Butts, Joseph A. Chapman, Bruce I. Christianson, Beverly Clayburgh, Blaine DesLauriers, Jennifer Feist, Bruce Furness, Bill Goetz, Nicholas Hacker, Gary D. Hagen, Don Hedger, Dennis Hill, Jim Jensen, Dennis Johnson, David Kemnitz, Ralph Kingsbury, James Klein, Dale Knutson, Pamela Kostelecky, Richard Kunkel, Charles E. Kupchella, Wayne Kutzer, Philip Leitner, Gloria Lokken, Carty Monette, Don Morton, Ryn Pitts, Robert Potts (ex officio nonvoting), Ken J. Quamme, Roger Reierson, Warren Robinson, Jim Roers, Wayne Sanstead, H. Erik Shaar, Tom Shorma, Chuck Stroup, Donna Thigpen, Lee Vickers, Sister Thomas Welder, Curtis L. Wolfe (ex officio nonvoting), Delore Zimmerman