NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Tuesday, October 21, 2003 West Heritage Room, Doublewood Inn, I-94 and Exit 159 Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of minutes from the July 14, 2003, meeting

HIGHER EDUCATION ROUNDTABLE

Representatives of business, industry, the State Board of Higher Education, the institutions of higher education, higher education students, the executive branch, and private and tribal higher education institutions will join the committee for a Higher Education Roundtable discussion

- 9:05 a.m. Comments by Senator Ray Holmberg, Chairman, Higher Education Committee, regarding the Higher Education Roundtable process
- 9:15 a.m. Comments by a representative of the Governor's office regarding the Higher Education Roundtable
- 9:25 a.m. Introduction of roundtable members
- 9:30 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Dennis Jones, President, National Center for Higher Education Management Systems, Boulder, Colorado, of an overview of higher education and challenges for the future
- 10:00 a.m. Roundtable discussion and questions of Mr. Jones
- 10:30 a.m. Coffee break
- 10:45 a.m. Convene the following task forces to address how higher education can play an even larger role in enhancing the economy of North Dakota and other issues:
 - Economic Development Connection (Room 106)
 - Education Excellence (Room 114)
 - Flexible and Responsive System (Room 206)
 - Accessible System (Governor's Room)
 - Funding and Rewards (Board Room)
 - Sustaining the Vision (West Heritage Room)
- 12:00 noon Lunch for roundtable members hosted by the Western Interstate Commission on Higher Education (WICHE) in celebration of WICHE's 50th anniversary
- 1:15 p.m. Continuation of task force discussions
- 2:00 p.m. Presentation and discussion of the Economic Development Connection Task Force report
- 2:15 p.m. Presentation and discussion of the Education Excellence Task Force report

- 2:30 p.m. Presentation and discussion of the Flexible and Responsive System Task Force report
- 2:45 p.m. Presentation and discussion of the Accessible System Task Force report
- 3:00 p.m. Presentation and discussion of the Funding and Rewards Task Force report
- 3:15 p.m. Presentation and discussion of the Sustaining the Vision Task Force report
- 3:30 p.m. Comments by Chairman Holmberg regarding the Higher Education Roundtable process and recommendations
- 3:35 p.m. Roundtable discussion
- 4:00 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators Ray Holmberg (Chairman), Tim Flakoll, Tony S. Grindberg, Ed Kringstad, Elroy N. Lindaas, Dave Nething

Representatives Ole Aarsvold, Thomas Brusegaard, Bette B. Grande, Kathy Hawken, Nancy Johnson, Frank Klein, Bob Martinson, Eugene Nicholas, Darrell D. Nottestad, Steven L. Zaiser

Roundtable Members

Hardin Aasand, Sue Andrews, John Botsford, Ann Burnett, Linda Butts, Joseph A. Chapman, Bruce I. Christianson, Beverly Clayburgh, Blaine DesLauriers, Jennifer Feist, Bruce Furness, Bill Goetz, Nicholas Hacker, Gary D. Hagen, Don Hedger, Dennis Hill, Larry Isaak (ex officio nonvoting), Jim Jensen, Dennis Johnson, David Kemnitz, Ralph Kingsbury, James Klein, Dale Knutson, Pamela Kostelecky, Richard Kunkel, Charles E. Kupchella, Wayne Kutzer, Philip Leitner, Gloria Lokken, Carty Monette, Don Morton, Ryn Pitts, Ken J. Quamme, Roger Reierson, Warren Robinson, Jim Roers, Wayne Sanstead, H. Erik Shaar, Tom Shorma, Chuck Stroup, Donna Thigpen, Sister Thomas Welder, Curtis L. Wolfe (ex officio nonvoting), Delore Zimmerman